Kuzu No Honkai Review

filobites
2 min readOct 4, 2022

--

Image from MyDramaList

After watching Kakafukaka, I immediately started Kuzu No Honkai (Scum’s Wish). Another Japanese drama with 12 24-minute episodes. The story revolves around five characters. The main characters are in love with their teachers and they started a pact together, supporting each other mentally and sexually.

I thought it was going to be a cliche series but it proved me wrong. There was a lot happening in every episode. The character of Akane Minagawa got me hooked on the series. It was an unusual character and the ending of her story surprised me, I did not expect that she would commit to Narumi Kanai that quickly, and for marriage at that. Nevertheless, I believe they wrapped up her side well.

On another note, the whole series is full of red flags. The main characters are very much toxic to each other that it was suffocating to watch but it honestly kind of touches on some realistic scenarios for pubescent and immature high school students. However, the part where the music teacher (Akane Minagawa) and our main character Mugi Awaya’s sudden sexual relationship was repulsive because of the age gap. Also, Mugi Awaya has a strong savior complex and it was frustrating. Watching him abandon Hanabi Yasuraoka for a person he knows is too broken to be saved by him is a scene that was hard to watch. Moreover, the relationship between Hanabi and Akane Minagawa was heartbreaking, to say the least. Akane holding on to a person she loves even though she knows the other will never like her is very masochist of her but I am glad they wrapped up their relationship in the end well — they became friends again in the end.

The ending also hit me like a truck. It was a good ending and it very much shows they finally are maturing but it is still not fun to not get a happy ending wherein they get together in the end. Nonetheless, I believe they ended it perfectly. People should not be stuck in a cycle of toxicity if we want to change for the better.

I would rate Kuzu No Honkai 7.5 over 10. The plot progressed well and no characters were left behind. I enjoyed watching it and I hope I encounter another drama or film with this kind of progress.

--

--