Hope For The Future Of Humanity

Kunal Gupta
6 min readMar 22, 2020

The skies, seas and streets are empty. As familiar sounds fade away, a new sound has appeared. The sound of silence.

On more than one occasion over the past week, my body tossed and turned in the middle of the night as my mind struggled to make sense of all the sudden change. The sound of silence is loud inside. Very loud. I am exhausted now. Mentally. Emotionally. Physically.

One week ago, I shared a reflection about my relationship with fear in the face of a global pandemic. I wrote about how action and inaction in the face of a global health crisis are both responses to fear, just different fears. That there are two types of fear in life; those that keep us living and those that keep us from living. And how awareness practices like meditation help me feel grounded and calm in the face of extreme uncertainty.

After one of the many restless nights this past week, I spent time the next morning in an extended meditation and observed how my state changed dramatically. Where for the previous day I had been filled with anxiety, I was now fueled with inspiration. While the gravity of reality had only continued to heighten, what had changed was my perspective. Thanks to a moment of insight, I understood that my stress experience is part of my process to come to a place of positivity. However unpleasant, allowing…

--

--

Kunal Gupta

Business leader, mindfulness teacher, mental health volunteer, full blog at findfocus.today and current projects at bykunal.com