Gluten-Free Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Find My MoJyo
3 min readApr 16, 2016

--

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Lots of things look great up-side down.

Let’s see….this guy

Screw you, physics!

Screw you, physics!

This ambigram…

I’m such a hipster sign!

This cirque du soleil dancer….

Gravity defying guy: “Can you do that in YOUR Yoga class??” No one likes a show off, ya know.

And this Upside down Pineapple Cake! Talk about Up-side down Mojo.

[aesop_image imgwidth=”800" img=”http://www.findmymojyo.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/IMG_20160414_172708.jpg" align=”center” lightbox=”on” captionposition=”center”]

[aesop_image imgwidth=”800" img=”http://www.findmymojyo.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/IMG_20160414_220910.jpg" align=”center” lightbox=”on” captionposition=”center”]

I’ll let you in on a secret, I have totally been in a funk since letting our rescue dog go, and I figured when things feel upside down, maybe the best thing to do, is make some Upside Down Pineapple Cake! Desserts are great at patching up souls in my experience, especially when shared with friends over coffee. At a coffee shop known to have hunky looking guys waltz in every few minutes.

I was craving pineapples and somethin’ sweet, and man does this cake deliver! With maraschino cherries, brown sugar and buttery goodness, I was marooned like Tom Hanks in that movie, on a island of sugary, crumbly, pineapple-y benevolence. Did I mention this is gluten-free? It didn’t make me want to disavow “gluten free” baking or make my taste-buds go “what on God’s earth is this??”. Actually, wait, it did make me say the latter, but in the best of ways. I was surprised at how unbelievably moist it turned out! It’s super easy to whip up and is incredibly satisfying.

The topping..

Yumm!

Yumm!

Flip it Good!

Flip it Good!

Umm...it might look like alien butt crack, but I assure you it's just cake.

Umm…it might look like alien butt crack, but I assure you it’s just cake.

...When you use white sugar, you don't get the glazed look on the topping!

…When you use white sugar, you don’t get the glazed look on the topping!

Here’s the recipe for the “Upside Down Pineapple Cake…I can’t believe it’s gluten-free!”

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:9]

Like this recipe or have something to add? Like or Comment below!

Originally published at Dude, Where’s My MoJyo?.

--

--

Find My MoJyo

Hi! I’m Jyo & here I share travel stories across the world, culinary adventures across the dining table & fun stories to inspire your own. Blog: findmymojyo.com