Prolonged fasting in a world of chronic instant gratification

There are parts of yourself you can only discover in the last 7km of a marathon, or, going without food for more than 24 hours

Philip Marais
6 min readNov 5, 2019

Going without food for more than a day is a thought that scares the shit out of most people. It certainly did for me. For most of us, the distance between breakfast and lunch is already a considerable source of anxiety. Now you are talking about extending that suffering to 72 hours and beyond? You must be high!

So why, then has this practice become some popular?

What don’t you know?

This is my story of discovery.

My first attempt at fasting: day 1

Following an indulgent Chrismas vacation in December of 2017, I resumed my regular intermittent fasting schedule by the first day of 2018.

My indulgences resulted in noticeable increases in my appetite and waistline. This was a source of anxiety, because it had taken me many months to get my appetite under (some) control, and the things that seemed to work before had stopped working during the recess.

The first Monday came, and I skipped breakfast, as per usual, and it just so happened, I…

--

--

Philip Marais

Geneticist-turned-software-engineer. Startups, Health & Nutrition, Music and Technology.