Am I Gimli the Dwarf?

Fiona Watches Bad Movies
2 min readAug 10, 2023

--

Photo by Kristijan Arsov on Unsplash

I look like Gimli the Dwarf. You know, the dwarf from “The Lord of the Rings?”

I don’t even have a beard and I look like that fucking dude. And I hate it.

Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash

So some background: I’m an MTF trans femme, egg cracked 2020, 24 months HRT.

Am I proud that I’m finally living my life authentically? Yeah, I’m proud. I’m just not fucking passing and I’m gonna be frank: it sucks. It especially sucks today.

I’m short, and that’s the only remotely feminine thing about me. I’m a fucking brick, a half-brick, and even with a mask I’m don’t look like a woman. Not even remotely.

I got supportive people in my life. I do. But today is just a bad dysphoria day. I’m just hearing “Do they really think you’re a woman? Or are they just being nice?” I know they’re just being nice.

I hope one day they’ll be able to see me as a woman without making a visible effort. Seriously.

Just today…. sigh.

Thanks for listening to me guys.

--

--

Fiona Watches Bad Movies

Writer, Thinker, Procrastinator, Trans femme trying to make her way in the world, Occasionally not annoying, Primarily watches bad movies now.