Fiona Y.
1 min readSep 11, 2019

--

Yes and no. My parents meant the best for me when I was homeschooled. They taught me stuff like Latin root words when I was seven, but as curriculum got harder in high school it became more difficult to sustain independent learning. My parents’ main oversight was assuming that the church would take care of our family’s social and spiritual needs when this was not the case. It was a struggle for all of us to get out of it and regain a “normal” social balance.

After all of that, I was grateful for the chance to even HAVE the opportunity to go to college. Once I got there, I realized that the “normal” system people go through has its flaws as well. The point of this article was that eventually, I had to take matters into my own hands if I wanted to self-improve, even if those were the toughest things for me to work on. The same goes for all students —everyone has to make hard decisions about whether their educational path and the way it’s being shaped is truly best for them.

--

--

Fiona Y.

A writer-scientist who makes mistakes so you don't have to. Editor of The Angry PhD. Sign up with my link: https://medium.com/@fionay/membership