SPLIT (2016) — Not just an Ordinary Thriller Movie

Firhat Hidayat
4 min readMar 5, 2017

I starting to get inspired for writing about this article because the ending of this movie. So I warn you all, this article contain a lot of spoilers.

One of SPLIT movie poster — IMDB

What happened?

Before I talked about the ending, I will tell you the story from the start.

This movie had unique approach, at the beginning, you will see the three young girl who are so cute especially Haley Lu Richardson I think :D, are being abducted with some bald guy (James McAvoy). The three girls placed in the unknown room.

After that the bald guy show up and take one of the girl, I thought that time the girl will be raped or something, but strangely the bad guy tell the girl to dance.

Another strange things show up when the bald guy came to psychiatrist to show his design, but I look something different about this guy.

The movie continue to show one of the girl past dark memory. And start switch between the psychiatrist scene and the three girls scene. I start to think that the guy had two personality problem, but everything start making sense when this scene show up.

“My Name is Hedwig, and I have red socks”

One of SPLIT scene — IMD trailer

After that scene the story more clearly that he have a lot of personality (23). The main personality is Kevin, Kevin known had dark past story. The 23 personality are separated to two side who had believe that is another personalities, the last (24th) personalities who will save them from the unfair human problem in this world, and the three girl will become gift for the 24th who called “The Monster”.

The Monster show up and start to eat the cute girl and her friend. But the girl with the dark past still alive while running from The Monster until the monster see a lot of scar at the girl body and yelled.

“The broken are the more evolved. Rejoice…”

In this moment I amazed to James McAvoy acting. Good Job.

After that scene The Monster go to unknown destination and the girl save by the zoo officer. And I think she finally confess about her past to the police.

And the ending.

If you watched this movie you will notice in the end of this movie there are conversation between two women in the cafe or restaurant, they both see a news about the 3 girls abduction and the suspected is having special behavior, he have 23 personalities. The women said that thing remind her about something similar in the past and the women forgot about the suspected name. But surprisingly there is Bruce Willis, yes, the Die Hard Guy Bruce Willis he said the name of the suspected in the past is called “MR. Glass”.

I little bit exited about this ending, because I thought this movie will have a sequel. I start for searching in IMDB and other source of movie information, but I didn’t found about rumor about the sequel. I read all cast in IMDB but Bruce Willis is uncredited.

I start to give up about this things until I try to read about the writer and the director, and surprisingly the writer and director is the same person behind the The Sixth Sense (1999). Yes M. Night Shyamalan and yes that sixth sense movie who gave you the twisted ending. If you have not watched this movie, watch it you will thanks me.

M. Night Shyamalan

And the curiosity begin, I started to find out another M. Night Shyamalan movie, and I found another movie with Bruce Willis inside Unbreakable (2000). I try to watch and BOOM.

Unbreakable (2010)

SPLIT and Unbreakable are have the same universe. Yes, like Batman and superman, like Iron Man and Captain America, like Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. And yes I start to wait what surprise would M. Night Shaymalan gave.

--

--