Godot, Unity, Unreal Engine, CryEngine? Which Game Engine Should I Choose?

The guide to choosing the correct engine for your next big game.

Luke Wilson
7 min readNov 1, 2019

--

Making a video game can be compared to building a house. But no-one wants to go through years building their house and being unhappy with their decisions. And no-one wants to waste their time using a game engine that just won’t work for their game. Let’s not waste any time picking the wrong engine. Let’s pick the engine that is powerful and efficient enough to do what we need to do with our game.

I want to show you a list of game engines I consider are worth using. I have been programming for about five years and a couple of these engines would just be downright hard to use, so I’d like to show you which and maybe save you some time. I also have a section at the end, “Which engines lack programming the most?”

Godot (pronounced GUH-doh)

Godot is a completely free and open source game engine being developed by hundreds of volunteer contributors around the world.

--

--

Luke Wilson

Licensed healthcare provider and entrepreneur. I write about business and programming.