Reviewing The Elgato HD60 X

John Cepoi
3 min readAug 2, 2022

I’ve been looking for a game capture card for a few months now and with lots of trial and error, I’ve finally found the one. For me, a game card needs to provide top-quality recording without any lag. And it’s quite hard to get that set up unless you also have a top-of-the-line gaming computer.

But that’s not all that I need it for since I also have to record my out camera as I’m doing my videos and all the tasks pile on. Pretty soon I found my computer could not handle everything I was throwing at it so I needed something that could. Especially without spending thousands on a new setup. The HD60 X was that answer.

It allows me to play and record in 4k and 1440p at 60fps. This is way better than the HD60 S+ model which can only reach 1080p. And with graphics getting better every year I was looking for something that would last.

Another big advantage is that it's plug-and-play. No external software is needed to run it. If you have OBS then you can set it up like you would any of your other devices. There was a downside on my end though. As soon as I started recording my CPU usage skyrocketed. I started experiencing a lot of lag and it wasn’t a very pleasant experience.

Fortunately, the HD60 X is compatible with QuickTime. So I opened it to record a new movie, then chose the sound and video inputs and voila. Lag-free footage and recording as well as being able to record my camera on OBS.

--

--

John Cepoi

Author x4, Life Coach & Relationship Expert. Helping busy professionals become their best selves and attract the right partner. amazon.com/dp/B0CKPB8STH