Why Is My Username A Number? Who Is 507?

John Cepoi
4 min readMar 30, 2023

Whether you stumbled on my content for the first time or have been seeing my posts for a while you’ll notice something. My profile name doesn’t quite make a lot of sense. After all, it’s only a number. Why don’t I decide to share my name like everyone else or pick a name that has a regular meaning? There are a few reasons for this but the truth is I’m not necessarily hiding who I am. With any bit of digging, you could very easily find out who I am.

But the significance of the name is a lot deeper than only a number. For a long time, I thought I needed to come up with some elaborate story on how the name came to be. The truth is whatever name you pick doesn’t matter. It’s the person behind the name that makes it noteworthy, not the other name around. So often I see business people struggle to find the ‘perfect’ name for their business. Meanwhile, it doesn’t matter.

It’s the wrong approach to take toward a brand. Einstein didn’t get to pick his name yet he became very well known. How many other people were named the same but didn’t accomplish anything? Keep this in mind as we explore this further. My username was chosen out of simplicity. I didn’t want to publish who I was for a variety of reasons. Here are some of the reasons why I chose 507.

Privacy is important

--

--

John Cepoi

Author x4, Life Coach & Relationship Expert. Helping busy professionals become their best selves and attract the right partner. amazon.com/dp/B0CKPB8STH