Don’t spend an hour recoloring icons

Evan Conrad
1 min readMar 19, 2017

--

My last couple projects were apps that required lots of icons (as SVG files). Every time I wanted to tweak a shade of gray or try a new color scheme, I needed to go an individually change each of my icons individually.

Generally I would:

  1. Open the icon in Sketch.
  2. Pick a different color.
  3. Re-export the icon as another png and svg.

This process was fine when I had one icon that I only ever wanted to recolor once. But with a bunch of icons and a bunch of design changes, this process can take up way too much time.

So I automated. I wrote a little script to take a batch of icons and recolor them for me. But it can be bothersome to have to run a command-line script, so I built a little Electron GUI, called Penguin, that lets you drag a bunch of SVG files over, then pick a color, and export newly colored icons.

Screenshot of Penguin

Penguin is on github and is free if you want to build it from source. Or if you to throw a few bucks my way, you can get it on the Mac App Store.

--

--