Is Competing in Bodybuilding/Men’s Physique Healthy?

Troy
6 min readNov 3, 2017

The bottom line to this question that I frequently get asked is no. No, competing is not healthy but neither is any other sport when you’re pushing your body to extremes. Comparatively, if you consider Olympic athletes, you would think they’re the epitome of health and fitness? Often this is not the case, they push themselves daily to extreme levels beyond what the human body is built for on a regular basis. High level athletes tax their central nervous system and often run themselves down from training at an elite level regularly. Do not get me wrong, Olympians are in unbelievable shape and accomplish mind blowing feats. But, to excel at the level professional athletes are performing at the human body needs to be pushed beyond what is considered “healthy” to see what is physically possible.

I cannot competitively play sports anymore with so many injuries, so I find the need to satisfy that competitive spirit. I love pushing myself and seeing extreme changes in my body. I don’t do it for anyone else but myself. Although I would not consider Men’s Physique a sport, the training aspect is extreme just like training for any high level athletic sport.

Men’s Physique is essentially based on manipulating training and diet to achieve a certain look. It is purely a superficial sport but also takes serious dedication, persistence and…

--

--

Troy

Men’s Physique Athlete, Crohn’s Disease advocate and blogger. For health, nutrition and fitness with Crohn’s, FlaredupFitness.com