Why self care is key on a mental health journey

Florel Magazine
5 min readDec 4, 2022

How we take care of ourselves can be a direct reflection of our mental health. Leaving the dishes to pile up, having bad eating habits, not maintaining proper physical health is the ramification of going through mental health challenges. The problem with all the situations stated above ; they don’t help us feel better at all. When experiencing this, we find ourselves in an infinite loop of not feeling well. But I get it, it’s difficult to prioritize self care when we just don’t care…

However, from my experience, If there’s one thing that I know, is that I personally hated being depressed. I hated the sadness, I hated the mess, I hated the darkness, the pain, the lack of motivation, you get the point. I just wanted to be happy. Therefore, something needed to change. I needed to break this cycle.

Practicing a form of self care throughout your day could be key to remission from depression and anxiety.

Here’s why;

1. Practicing self care gets you out of the depressive loop.

Even if the depressive and anxious state itself isn’t a choice, you can decide to hold yourself accountable and recognize how certain actions that you pose could be detrimental to your…

--

--

Florel Magazine

Your ultimate relatable zillennial magazine pertaining to faith, mental health, and lifestyle. Let’s get into fresh content that speaks to you! 💕💫👽