The Dos & Don’ts of Goal Setting: A Beginners Guide

Jordyn Flowe
5 min readJan 9, 2024
Happy New Year

It’s officially the second week of 2024 and I have big plans for the year. Don’t we all? If you’re like me and have found trouble keeping your new year’s resolutions past the month of February, I have created a guide of goal setting dos and don’ts for us to follow.

Why? Because I am competing with myself to complete for myself. I encourage you to do the same.

Find Your Why

Every successful business has a mission statement or a reason why they do what they do. Everyday people should adopt this strategy for their lives too. Your why is the superpower that will keep you persistent on your goals.

My mission statement: to create a life of peace by living a sustainable lifestyle centered around gratitude, nature, and community.

Developing a reason why is intimidating especially in the beginning. I spent years wrecking my brain for my purpose. I wasted time carefully curating a why statement, only to ditch it and create a more perfect reason. But our purpose is ever changing, and life is imperfect.

Can I let you in on a secret? You already know your why. It is what you spend most of your time running away from but keep coming back to; it is what you are most energized by.

--

--

Jordyn Flowe

I encourage self-improvement whilst reflecting on relationships and dating