My First Drone Experience

flyosk
3 min readDec 12, 2016

--

This past Saturday I was able to fly my first drone. The Flyosk Team recently purchased our first drone, the Yuneec Typhoon H Pro. I was the only team member that had yet to fly, so we took it for a spin at a nearby park, next to the Berkeley Marina which has a gorgeous view of the bay. When we got there, we were pleasantly surprised to find some other droners. We got to check out a DJI Mavick Pro, I was stunned at how small and compact it is, the propellers are able to fold into the body of the drone, something our much bigger Yuneec could not do.

Our Yuneec Typhoon H ready for take off

Once we attached the propellers and battery, the Yuneec was ready to fly. Praneet, our CEO handed me the remote for take off but I was hesitant and decided to wait and watch first. So Lawrence, our operations director took control and in a few seconds our drone was high above us. After watching Praneet and Lawrence have their fun, I was ready to partake in the action.

Looking over Berkeley

Praneet handed me the controller and a huge wave of panic hit me. For some reason I thought it would fall out of the sky or crash once I began flying it. Of course, that did not happen. One, because I am not an idiot and two, because our drone has Intel® RealSense™, which means it senses and avoids obstacles, like a tree, or the ground.

Once I was confident the drone was not going to fall from the sky, I began having some fun. I managed to fly the drone right next to the water and got some great shots of the marina and bay. However, my favorite shots from the day, being the millennial that I am, were the selfie shots we took from above.

The great view of the bay we had and The Flyosk team practicing our drone selfie skills

The fun could not last all day, and once the wind started picking up and our second battery died, we headed home. All in all, It was a great first drone experience and I can’t wait to fly again.

  • Khadija Karodia | Flyosk Marketing Intern

Originally posted on flyosk.com: http://flyosk.com/blog/my-first-drone-experience-/63073d8822f34110b5132120ebe443dd/

--

--