Data Scientist Role Requirements — An Amazon Interviewer’s Perspective

Farzad Mahmoodinobar
6 min readSep 25, 2022
Photo by Maranda Vandergriff on Unsplash

I joined Amazon as a Product Manager and although I enjoyed the data-driven mindset in Amazon, I soon realized that my interests were more aligned with the depth that only science provided. Therefore, I started talking to various teams, scientists, hiring managers, etc. to learn how I can make such a transition. My plan is to share my learnings in the form of a series of posts with all those who might be interested in learning more about Amazon science roles or who might be interested in making such a transition or starting their own career in data science. This transition took me about a year and my hope is that if you are interested in doing the same, you can leverage my learnings and make the transition in a shorter period of time and with a higher level of certainty.

Overall Requirements

This particular post is meant to walk us through what requirements I identified for a Data Scientist role in Amazon. I will breakdown each of the steps further and then there will be follow-up stories in this series to go further into details of what I did for that particular step, what I studied and how it worked out for me. I will also try to share cheat sheets or other learning materials that I created along the way for anyone that might be interested in doing the same.

--

--