HP-Middle East and Me, A STAND OFF

Jean
15 min readSep 21, 2015

--

You will not be finding a very diplomatic or a journalistic touch but rather a layman’s language in this article. It is going to be rough and tough.

I regret to have bought a HP 15-d007se laptop from CarreFour which I got a 1 year warranty from the date of purchase based on the invoice, which was Aug 2014. At the time of purchase the laptop had 2 GB RAM and factory installed windows 8.

I reside in Kuwait and the HP-ME support center is in Dubai, UAE. They have a local Kuwaiti mobile number which is routed to the call center in Dubai.

Fastforward to Aug 2015

I installed windows 10 and decided to upgrade the RAM which I paid for as it was not covered by the warranty at the HP service center. The touchpad were not function well. 1. Single clicks were going as double clicks 2. Windows were minimizing when moving the cursor around 3. Lag in cursor movement.

The service center fixed a new touchpad since it was well within the warranty period of 1 year which ended at Aug 2015. On the advice of the HP service center that the touchpad will not work properly on windows 10, I asked them to reset the laptop to factory settings. Factory settings would have the laptop run on windows 8. The touchpad drivers were synaptic, a third party driver which neither HP nor Microsoft supported.

I tested the laptop back home and still the touchpad had the same issues. The service center told me that it was a higher memory issue and Win 10 did not support higher memory. The touchpad buttons were completely misaligned after 2 days of usage. I was advised to soft-touch the touchpad buttons.

I wrote to Microsoft

HI Jean,Thank you for your email.Windows 10 does not have any issue with higher memory. Windows 10 64 bit works fine with higher memory.Regards,[support agent name and details -removed]------From: Jean Abraham [mailto:] Sent: Wednesday, August 19, 2015 5:06 PMTo: [support agent name and email -removed]Subject: Re: [support ticket removed]Hello,I have a HP laptop and recently upgraded it from 2gb to 6gb RAM.  The service center tells me that windows 10 makes the laptop slower and I have to downgrade it to win 8.  Could you tell me if it is true?Does Windows 10 have a problem with higher memory?RegardsJean

I conveyed the above to the service center, then they came up with “the touchpad is not supported by Win 10“.

In touch with HP-Middle East

HP-ME said that I have to take the unit back to the service center to resolve the issue. On that note, I asked them if it did not resolve? They came up with, “We will see”. I told them that if you are unable to fix the issue then I will require a replacement unit which I am ready to pay extra if required. HP-Me told me that a replacement unit is not possible because the laptop I have is out of warranty, I said, “but I gave the laptop well within the warranty to fix it”.

-------------------- From: HP Support<[email removed> Date: Mon, Aug 24, 2015 at 1:30 PM Subject: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: "[removed]" <[removed]> Dear Mr. Jean , Hewlett Packard Customer Service:  http://welcome.hp.com/country/emeamiddleeast/en/support.html Thank you for using Hewlett Packard Product. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused. Regarding your case ID: [removed] with Serial Number:[removed], with reference to our conversation in the phone we would like to inform you that as per HP policy, your unit is out of Warranty and it is not entitled for replacement, Your unit will follow the warranty Policy provided by HP (please check the warranty booklet which comes with the unit). Kindly send us your unit invoice to check if it is still in the grace period (One month after the warranty expiry date), to provide you free repair. After the last repair from our Authorized Service Center, if you are facing the same issue in the unit, the part which was replaced before will be replaced for free in the next three month of the repairing date. Please note, in order for the issue to be resolved, our technical team suggested to submit the unit to the Service Center as the problem is Hardware issue not Software, Will keep following the case with you after submitting the unit to the Service Center. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact your support desk, quoting your complaint reference number. Please refer to the following to get further information about HP Warranty & License Agreement: •       Your Warranty Booklet (provided with the unit). •       http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/privacy/limitedwarranty.html#ipg Please revert back if you need any further information or clarification regarding your case Yours sincerely, Thank You [support agent name removed] Customer Relation Team (CRT) Hewlett Packard Middle East---------- My reply to the above email ----------From: Jean Abraham<[removed]> Date: Mon, Aug 24, 2015 at 3:10 PM Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: HP Support <[removed]>Dear Ms. [removed],Thank you for your email.In our conversation I did mention to you that1. I received the laptop with the mouse pad not functioning properly and after installing win 10 I decided to upgrade the RAM with another 4GB. this was well within the warranty period.  Rephrasing what I wrote: I did approach your service center well within the warranty period **- You fail to notice the fact that I approached you well within the warranty period for this issue**2. The service center upgraded the RAM and replaced the touchpad and buttons.  The buttons were displaced and making sound for each click.3. I returned less than a week to the service center again to ask them to fix the mouse buttons since it was displaced again, one of them was down.4. The service center fixed it and asked me to handle it softly.  ** Could you, HP tell me for the life of the laptop shall i handle the mouse buttons softly, that means I am not using the laptop as a regular user.**It is certainly surprising that you come back with "out of warranty" period when I did show you a problem that was a clear hardware faulty even though the part was replaced it still does not function properly.  You giving a reason "out of warranty" is just not right.  **I asked you for a replacement laptop since I approached you well within the warranty period and after.**Note that this is a non-resolving issue and I do not have the time to walk in-out of your service center.  You are simply wasting my time in asking me to visit your service center to cover up for your faulty-hardware.Jean

What every user must check when purchasing a HP Laptop

The warranty given from the date of invoice is different from what they have on their systems. The warranty for my laptop was expired on Jan 14, 2015, as you will see in the below email. But according to the invoice from Carrefour I had warranty till Aug 2015. I told the service center and HP-ME that windows 10 is not the problem but the hardware is faulty and also told them not to do a factory reset and leave it on windows 10.

--------------------From: **HP Support**<[removed]> Date: Tue, Sep 1, 2015 at 4:06 PM Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: "[removed]" <[removed]> Dear Mr. Jean, As we discussed over the Phone, Kindly confirm if you have refusing to Format the Hard Disc, and take the unit from the Service Center with Windows 8.1, as per the Service Center information.  Thank You [removed] Customer Relation Team (CRT) Hewlett Packard Middle East--------------- Original Message ---------------From: HP Support [removed] Sent: 27/08/2015 03:41 PM To: [removed] Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] Dear Mr. Jan, Thank you for contacting Hewlett Packard Customer company, with reference to our conversation in the phone Yesterday, Kindly be informed that as per the technical report from Ensure Service Center, the unit has been repaired only one time as Hardware, and the Second Repair was Software. **Your unit is out of Warranty as per our system since:01/14/2015**, And it is not entitled for replacement, Kindly send us your invoice to check if it is still in the grace period if you want to repair the unit. Thank You [removed] Customer Relation Team (CRT) Hewlett Packard Middle East

Windows 10 Compatibility

The issue of the touchpad was brought to the notice of HP-ME mid August and still now they have not bothered to find out if the laptop is compatible with the windows 10. Below is their email

---------- Forwarded message ----------From: **HP Support**<[removed]> Date: Sun, Sep 13, 2015 at 4:57 PM Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: "[removed]" <[removed]> Dear Mr. Gean, Thank you for contacting Hewlett-Packard Company As we discussed over the phone today, We are following on your case with our Service Center, and they are in  contact with our Second Level Technical engineers to confirm if your unit is compatible with windows 10 or not. We will get back to you soon with the update. Thank you and Best Regards, Consumer-Exception Team HP Customer Care### Things get rough from hereHP-ME does not call back or return my calls to which I wrote to them--------------- Original Message ---------------From: Jean Abraham [removed] Sent: ١٣‏/٩‏/٢٠١٥ ٤:٢٩ PM To: removed Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:removed:ref ] Hello, Since you are least interested in getting in touch with me to understand why I had left the laptop at your service center I had to spend money to call you. I had asked in the beginning for a new laptop since this was a faulty part, but you refused.  Now you are in a position that you cannot seem to fix the touch pad issue, which is the faulty part.  Over and above you do not want to call me or get the issue resolved.  You do not want to acknowledge the fact, write an email to address the issue at hand.  You as a customer support and complaint dept lack total professionalism . You keep saying for the past 2-3 weeks that the issue has been escalated but I do not see anything promising but words.  Anyone can talk, "Talk is cheap" Jean

Another email sent to HP-ME because they closed the case quickly as I collected the laptop from the service center.

---------- Forwarded message ----------From: **Jean Abraham** Date: Wed, Sep 9, 2015 at 8:03 AM Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:removed:ref ] To: HP SupportHello,As per our telephone conversation I checked the unit with serial Number: [removed] and found that the issue has not been resolved.  Please rest assure that the unit is currently faulty for returned to your authorized service center for repairs.Also [http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/privacy/limited_warranty.html#ipg](http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/privacy/limited_warranty.html#ipg) does not work well and I cannot see any warranty.On your note of **"Kindly note this case will move to closure by the end of this business day if there is no reply to this mail. Feel free to open a new case if further assistance required."**I did not read your very conveniently sent email at 5:45PM though we spoke at 9:30 AM yesterday.  And you very hurriedly closed the case.Jean

Writing to the GM, HP-ME

I was very much annoyed with the customer support of HP-ME. I then went on to contact the GM, HP-ME.

---------- Forwarded message ----------From: **Jean Abraham**<[removed]> Date: Mon, Sep 7, 2015 at 3:49 PM Subject: Fwd: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: [removed]Dear Mr. [removed],I regret to having a bought a HP Laptop from CarreFour, Kuwait.  At the point of purchase it had only 2GB RAM and running on Win 8.  I thought because of the insufficient RAM the touchpad was not working well and therefore when Win10 was released I got to your service center to upgrade the RAM(Which I pad, no complaints on that) and they replaced the touchpad and still the lag was present and at times the search of the windows pops up open, windows are minimized/closed, single click becomes double click.  I took it back to the service center again and again to fix it but still it has not been resolved.  Currently the laptop is at the service center.The below emails are from HP Dubai.1. I received the laptop with the mouse pad not functioning properly and after installing win 10 I decided to upgrade the RAM with another 4GB. this was well within the warranty period.  Rephrasing what I wrote: I did approach your service center well within the warranty period **- You fail to notice the fact that I approached you well within the warranty period for this issue**2. The service center upgraded the RAM and replaced the touchpad and buttons.  The buttons were displaced and making sound for each click.3. I returned less than a week to the service center again to ask them to fix the mouse buttons since it was displaced again, one of them was down.4. The service center fixed it and asked me to handle it softly.  ** Could you, HP tell me for the life of the laptop shall i handle the mouse buttons softly, that means I am not using the laptop as a regular user.**It is certainly surprising that you come back with "out of warranty" period when I did show you a problem that was a clear hardware faulty even though the part was replaced it still does not function properly.  You giving a reason "out of warranty" is just not right.  **I asked you for a replacement laptop since I approached you well within the warranty period and after.**Note that this is a non-resolving issue and I do not have the time to walk in-out of your service center.  You are simply wasting my time in asking me to visit your service center to cover up for your faulty-hardware.Fast forwarding to last week till today.Last week I  called up and spoke to [support agent name] and she told she had spoken to the service center in Kuwait, which I understand as "service center" who she spoke to.  I called up the service center on the status of the laptop and asked them if anyone had called from HP Middle East they said, no one had called.  Later the service center did say someone from HP called.[support agent name] said that I refused to collect the laptop from the service center if windows 10 was not installed, I infact did not say anything of that sort but I am the one who installed win 10 on it and asked the service center **not to format.** In response to that [support agent name] send me the email below**"As we discussed over the Phone, Kindly confirm if you have refusing to Format the Hard Disc, and take the unit from the Service Center with Windows 8.1, as per the Service Center information."**At that point of time I told her that I want to speak to her Manager. On Wednesday, I spoke to Mr.[name removed] for over an hour.  I asked Mr.[name removed] to send me an email which he flatly refused.  I told him that I will not take anything verbally, he refused to send an email and said he will call on Thursday.  Neither did he call on Thursday, Sunday and Today.Today I called him 2 times to which he did not return my calls, then on the third time I called and spoke to him.  He told me1. The incident has been escalated to a higher team.  Its more than 10 days since my laptop is in your service center.2. I asked him if the laptop compatible to windows 10 - In reality:: He asked me, if I checked on the HP website if the laptop was compatible with win 10. (Should HP not tell me that after check the serial number?)  and also said that the laptop might not be compatible with win 10.  Microsoft has specs for win 10 and I am sure you will agree with that too.3. Since there was a disagreement on No. 2 which was verbal on Thursday and disagreed today which is why I had asked him to send the email of what we spoke.I have no further trust in your support team on what they speak to  me on the phone, what they tell me next day and what they email me.  I am tired calling your service center, HP Dubai for any further discussion.I also told your customer support and Mr.[name removed] that this is a hardware issue and will not be resolved therefore would like an alternate laptop.  I would not take this laptop which has a faulty hardware and run back and forth to the service center every week.I would appreciate you speaking to me (**number removed**) and a quick response on this issue.Just to ask you, is it a policy in HP, Dubai that GM name not be given?RegardsJean

Getting no response from GM, HP-ME and no proper response from HP-ME, I sent the GM, HP-ME another email.

---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: **Jean Abraham**<[removed]> Date: Sun, Sep 13, 2015 at 3:06 PM Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: [removed]Dear Mr. [removed],I wrote the below email to about 6 days ago and have not received any response from you.  Your support team has been at the same.  HP Middle East is least interested in the **laptop it sold ** and since **I paid **I am letting you know that I returned the laptop to the service center since the issue is still not resolved**.**Your support team does not call me back to enquire about my laptop rather I have to call them. Since this issue has been going for almost a month now I am convinced that this is the level of professionalism from HP Middle East.  They just seem to ignore customers.I requested in the beginning a new laptop since this was a hardware issue but HP-ME refused, now you cannot seem to fix the issue too.Could you let me know, **(But then you could not since you will not respond to my emails and neither will your support)**How should I keep using this faulty device?If it were you, would you use it?Would you not write as I am doing?**Yes, I am annoyed, angry at HP for selling me the faulty laptop, the money I threw away, your support.**Let me tell you a bit about some companies:Dell, Microsoft, HTC: They have an efficient support team, the company management responds directly to customers.I don't except a call back from you or your support and this email will not make difference to you either**Jean

And following the above email the GM, HP-ME responded.

---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: **[removed]**  Date: Sun, Sep 13, 2015 at 3:16 PM Subject: RE: HPCC [ ref:removed:ref ] To: Jean Abraham Cc: "removed"Dear Jean,Your case was looked at and I copy [removed] for case details to respond to you.**Best Regards,**** ****[removed]****Hewlett Packard Enterprise**

Windows 10 Compatibility — Email to the GM, HP-ME

---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: **Jean Abraham**<[removed]> Date: Mon, Sep 14, 2015 at 8:28 AM Subject: Fwd: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] To: "[removed]" <[removed]>, "[removed]" <[removed]>Dear Mr. [removed],It is really disappointing to find a company like HP running around to find if their laptops are compatible with windows 10 after a month of my giving it to the service center.I did that work for you in 15 minutes, probably you should just hire me in the management since no one in your team could do it for a month.Attached is the compatibility screenshot.  That "LEARN MORE" is nothing significant and the model laptop I have is perfectly upgradeable.I did take the laptop from the service center yesterday and I am working on it.  The touchpad is in the same condition as before.Like said, if you are unable to fix the touchpad admit you have a faulty hardware and provide me a new laptop rather than just giving silly reasons.Below is the email I just sent to your support team who are incompetent.Jean
---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: **Jean Abraham**<[removed]>Date: Mon, Sep 14, 2015 at 8:18 AM Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:removed:ref ]To: HP Support <[removed]>I am amazed that you are still running around to find out if my laptop is compatible with windows 10 even after a month of the touchpad issue. This is something that you should have done first when I got the laptop to the service center.Should I appreciate you for this running around?

Call from HP-ME following the above emails

The call from HP-ME was to tell me that I am not eligible for a replacement, I had to ask them to email me and they did not have to call for this purpose. Anyway the call went on for quite sometime. I also told HP-ME that they need to send me an email following this discussion and till date they have not sent. I have sent them multiple reminders and also sent them a tweet to which HP-ME has not responded. After this tiring ordeal I thought of doing a write up in letting others know of how HP as a company treats its customers. I keep wondering why they do not respond to my emails.

Tweets sent to HP

I was almost winding up this post that I received the below email from HP-ME after running after them for over 4 days, sending them reminder emails, and reminder tweets.

The “FYI” was sent to the GM, HP-ME On Sun, Sep 20, 2015 at 1:15 PM, Jean Abraham <[removed]> wrote:

>FYI>>---------- Forwarded message ---------->>From: **Jean Abraham**<[removed]> > > Date: Sun, Sep 20, 2015 at 1:15 PM > > Subject: Re: HPCC [ ref:[removed]:ref ] > > To: HP Support <[removed]> > > This is not what I spoke with [removed].  She asked me to prove that the cursor had a lag.  I need an email from her. > >

This is the usual email. While on the topic of usual, kindly tell me “how many times should I take the laptop to your service center to fix the touchpad”? Also you have not said what you will do if you are unable to fix the touchpad.

Image Credit: HP Logo

Related

Originally published at ajean.net on September 20, 2015.

--

--