Opportunities (Ch:4 P:2)

New Sage
6 min readOct 15, 2022

Mature content doth be below. I try to keep it reasonable, but the nature of the subject doesn’t make it necessarily easy to accomplish. So consider this the warning. Language and Gore follow. It isn’t a blood-fest, however.

[Book Index]

Jordan stared at the girl who had become Bronski’s official partner. She would have had to use considerable political leverage to get into this position. It always interested him to see how hard some people would work to find secrets. Some of them might be useful, and it looks like he had struck gold with this one.

Still he had to be sure.

She was smart, hard working, and ambitious.

That was a given.

What he wasn’t sure of was if she had seen the markings on the stone. He was fairly sure she had, but he didn’t want her realizing that made her different.

Very different.

“I don’t normally offer this.”

Well, that was definitely true.

“But I have to say that you handled yourself quite well.”

Because I can’t say the main reason.

“So I will answer any three questions you put to me.”

The illusion of choice, as if there wasn’t a very specific line of questions she was dealing with.

“I will even answer them honestly.”

--

--

New Sage

Building Better Worlds. Random and chaotic. My social media presence is about something so specific it looks like nothing at all.