What is a Teacher?

New Sage
3 min readOct 17, 2022

Consider something, we have this saying in America.

“Those who can do, and those who can’t teach.”

I hate this.

It is a terrible thing to consider, and I have to say that it does a grave injustice to some of the hardest working, and least appreciated members of our society.

How have we come from a society, thousands of years old, ones that valued words of wisdom, ones that saw gatherings of people surround a teacher, to a civilization that treats them as fools?

@drawthistweet of people gathered around a teacher. AI took his head off. Kinda weird tbh.

I just read something written by prism (If you want me to tag it, I can), and it got me thinking about this whole thing.

They said, “That they need actual real people who can really do it and explain themselves.”

My thought was, Isn’t that any real teacher?

To me, the completion of understanding is the ability to convey an idea to another. If I cannot convey that idea, then I do not have the ability to express it. If I cannot express it, I do not understand it.

In this way, I know that I have mastered numerous fields. I know this because I have the ability to explain incredibly detailed ideas in relatively simple ways.

This is a mastery, in my opinion.

--

--

New Sage

Building Better Worlds. Random and chaotic. My social media presence is about something so specific it looks like nothing at all.