User Q&A: Who Would Be the Main Client for Landscape Photography?

Chris Romans
3 min readNov 11, 2019

This Medium story will be short-and-sweet. Over on our website post Beginner’s Guide: How Do Photographers Get Clients? I received this really great question that I wanted to address directly for the rest of our Formed From Light website and Medium viewers to read.

The question…

Hi Chris,

I love your texts but in this one I got a question:

I do landscape and long exposure here in Portugal with amazing beaches and cliffs. Who do you think could be the main client for this specific area of photography?

Thank you,

Luis

My answer…

Hi Luis — finding clients for landscape photography tends to be more challenging and scarce when compared with portraits/weddings, but it is doable.

Some options I could think of would be to reach out to corporations + small businesses needing image rights for advertising and similar (think travel companies like Patagonia or a hiking brand). These types of gigs would probably be the best paying. In most cases, you would be…

--

--

Chris Romans

I co-run Formed From Light, and am one half of the husband-and-wife team that makes up Hand + Arrow Photography. Blogs at FFL: https://formedfromlight.com/