They Took Away My Job, But I Still Have My Voice

United for Respect
4 min readApr 19, 2023

--

Text by: TaNeka Hightower

What do you get when you are a top employee at Walmart, successfully leading a team of associates, and working hard every day you clock in? You get injured, stressed, and kicked to the curb.

When I first started working at Walmart, I was promoted to manager within a few months because I was a hard worker, efficient, and a problem-solver. I also learned early in my career you can’t always SAY something when you SEE something. You have to know when to stay SILENT and when to SPEAK.

As a Walmart employee, the unfortunate reality is that when you flag safety concerns, seek to understand certain policies or processes, or introduce solutions to problems, you’re targeted as a “troublemaker”.

In my five years at Walmart I worked many positions, all in a managerial capacity. The last position I held was that of Bakery/Deli Academy Trainer where I led a team of employees who were eager to learn, work, and succeed. Our inventory checks were on point and we were so unified and efficient that when I went on vacation, everyone on my team understood their roles and responsibilities.

My department was successful because everyone was appreciated and treated as human beings. I praised my staff members’ hard work, celebrated their birthdays, and respected the time they took off to rest and spend with their loved ones.

On the outside, I tried to keep a positive attitude and a smile on my face for my staff. But on the inside, I was crumbling because our store was so chaotic and failing operationally.

The problem I constantly saw around the store was that there was a lack of skill, a lack of will, and a lack of training. I don’t know when or why Walmart executives stopped caring about the people working in the stores but sometimes I wish Sam Walton was still alive to teach Walmart executives about respect. Like the “respect for the individual” that was so important that it was one of the founding values.

Since Sam Walton’s death, the Walmart Board of Directors, CEO Doug McMillon, and the Waltons have been cutting corners and staff to ensure they make more money. Onboarding training used to be a week long and now it’s only a few hours. Department Manager positions got eliminated and they folded 5 people’s jobs into one now officially known as “Team Leads”. Training and re-training staff so that policies and processes are not forgotten is no longer a priority. All these executives see and care about are dollar signs.

Now don’t get me wrong — it feels good to see your store be successful. I know I was always filled with joy when my departments did well, but we shouldn’t have to break our backs or fear for our safety for the sake of profits. I remember a compactor we used to crush cardboard boxes was down for weeks and Walmart corporate ignored our requests to get it repaired. The back room was so full of cardboard boxes that some managers got injured, associates almost fell over, and our emergency exit doors were blocked. OSHA got called and, finally, the problem got fixed. I eventually injured myself after I fell in the freezer at work and hurt my back. My doctor ordered me to take time off to recover. I’m cleared to go back to work now but I am fighting to get reinstated.

People might wonder why I want to go back if things were so bad at Walmart. The truth is, as bad as things are, I believe we can do better. I KNOW we can do better because my team was proof of it. People who work at Walmart can and must be treated with dignity and respect, appreciated and celebrated for their hard work, and trained and re-trained in areas where improvement is needed.

At the Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility conference earlier this month, I spoke with shareholders of Walmart and told them the truth: They’re investing their dollars in a company that is creating unsafe, unhealthy working conditions and we have to demand that the Waltons, CEO Doug McMillon, and Walmart’s Board of Directors do better. They heard me loud and clear. Some even invited me to meet with them again and I will gladly do so.

I will continue to speak up and share my story because I am speaking for the millions of people who work at Walmart and who are tired of hurting, and being ignored, and are ready for change. We will be heard — I’ll make sure of it.

--

--

United for Respect

We are a multiracial movement of working people advancing a vision of an economy where corporations respect our work and recognize our humanity.