Tiago Forte
1 min readMar 23, 2017

--

No, it’s a very important separation, especially in this day and age when the two are always getting muddled together.

I use a neat trick in Things that saves me a lot of time: instead of tagging individual tasks as work or personal, I tag whole projects and areas (since a project or area is always work or personal, and doesn’t generally switch teams):

http://imgur.com/4j4K1uR

That way, as soon as I sort tasks into projects and areas, their work or personal tags get automatically assigned to any tasks within them. That way I can apply a quick search filter for only tasks that pertain to work, or personal, without having to apply individual tags.

--

--

Tiago Forte

Founder of productivity consultancy/training firm Forte Labs (fortelabs.co), editor of members-only publication Praxis (praxis.fortelabs.co)