I Wondered Why So Many Muslims Kept Lying to Me.

Steve Foss
3 min readMay 9, 2024

Then I learned about Taqiyya.

Photo by Tarus Chernus on Unsplash

I became frustrated at the number of times I would be in a conversation with a follower of Islam, and they would say something to me that was flat-out untrue. And they would do it with a straight face. Seriously? Were they uninformed? Were they trying to be disrespectful? Did they think all Christians are so stupid we would fall for anything?

Side Note: The reality is that most Christians are sadly uninformed because of the number of false Pastors spewing end-time garbage from high-visibility pulpits. Get out your Bibles and think for yourselves, my fellow Christians. But that is for another Medium post. Now, back to Muslims.

I love having conversations about current events in the Middle East. Everything gets heated and passionate at lightning speed. Whether it is the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, or the coming Mahdi; Arabs, Jews, and Christians get charged up and passionate about their belief system.

My Orthodox Jewish friends think because I’m Christian, I only want to evangelize them. I don’t. They’ll discuss Middle Eastern history boldly until they realize I teach Torah and know their world inside and out. (Remember Tisha B’Av) We can agree to disagree on many topics. But they never try to BS me.

The Muslims I meet who are willing to discuss hot buzz words like “occupation,” “genocide,” and “two-state solution” however, will lie right to my face. It bothered me.

Then I learned about the doctrine of Taqiyya. And it made sense. It wasn’t about me. They were only doing what they believed was right for their belief system. It is a tenet of Islam.

Picture courtesy of Meforum.org

Taqiyya is mentioned seven times in the Quran and five times in the Hadith. Muslims are commanded to speak the truth with fellow Muslims. But are encouraged to lie to infidels. Who are the infidels? Anyone who is not Muslim, like Jews or Christians. Is it lying? Or is it merely…ahem…”misdirection in warfare”?

Photo courtesy Quora.com

Hassan Rouhani was the seventh President of Iran. And served for almost a decade.

The next time you are streaming a panel debate online, and a representative from the Palestinian Authority says something blatantly false, chalk it up to Taqiyya. It’s not personal. They are only doing their spiritual job. And they are good at it. It’s probably the reason they were chosen to be the talking head in the first place.

Photo from Pinterest.co.uk

My advice to you, dear reader, is to take anything someone tells you with a grain of salt. Search the Bible. Search the Quran. Remember those weapons of mass destruction scattered all over Iraq? Fool me twice, shame on me.

It is an election year. And the tsunami of deception is already rolling in. Become Berean. Be Noble.

Photo courtesy of goodnewstext.org

Be wise as serpents and harmless as doves. Find a source of verifiable truth you can rely on to stay informed. It won’t be the mainstream media. You can be assured of that.

The next time someone passionately tells you a “fact” about Israel, receive it with the same attitude as a police officer who hears “I don’t know how that bag of weed got in my car.

The Middle East is complicated. Fasten your seat belt. It’s about to get lit as we close this present age.

“The truth is out there.” -X-Files

--

--

Steve Foss

Not the usual Christian ghostwriter. Torah teacher, and Israel tour guide. Writing content to help guide us through the closing of this present age.