Melanie Wright
2 min readSep 3, 2016

“It all began with the forging of the Great Rings.”
“One ring to rule them all…”
Wait! Was I making another LOTR reference?
In my story, it all began with two rings and here’s the first one.

Now you may have wondered why I was wearing the scariest fish imaginable on my finger. The answer was Beluga, and your question was irrelevant.
Belugas: a cetacean according to Wikipedia, a weird looking pale whale according to me, and my doppelgänger according to him.

You read that right, he thinks I’m a beluga.

He still asks me if I swim fast enough whenever I come to his place, he still carries me to the shower every morning to rehydrate, and he still worries I might migrate back to the Hudson Bay after a fight.
So in all romantic-ness, he offered me a beluga ring (or what resembled one). Kitsch, corny, and over-the-top adorable, I gasped in awe and love at his gift as belugas cackle, whistle, trill, and squawk during mating season.
Can belugas get goosebumps, because I definitely did.

“You are a ring-bearer. To bear a ring of power is to be alone… “
Please forgive me, I was binge-watching all three Lord of the Rings movies and one does not simply watch them back to back without it being detrimental to the soul, or your writing skills.
Now on the days when I don’t wear a fish-that’s-supposed-to-be-a-beluga ring, I wear this one.

If this is the price you pay for going out with a designer with eccentric taste in jewelry, then I am more than willing to do so.

This was considered the serious ring *said he, as I laughed uncontrollably* and I adored him even more given his solemnity regarding a nude posing arched-woman. I felt like a voyeur during the “draw me like one of your French girls” scene from Titanic. Should I have found DiCaprio and had him stare at my ring while I waited for him to get the joke?

Melanie Wright

Works at Pathe Movie Production House. Writer, critic, and currently working on first novel. Instagram | Twitter | Snapchat @foxmelanoue