John C. Cummings on Education

F. R. D’Onofrio
7 min readAug 2, 2019

--

Congressional Candidate (R) in the 14th District of NY

I met with John Cummings, the retired Police officer, and current High School civics/history teacher from the Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez district, in New York City — District 14. Full disclosure: I know John since high school, the same high school he teaches at today — St. Raymond’s Boys High. My locker was next to John’s, and he was the first person who introduced themselves to me on the first day of school. I admire John, and what he stands for. When he had communicated to me that he was considering a run against AOC, I felt optimistic. But like you, I wanted to find more truth.

John grew up in district 14. He is a product of the Parkchester apartments in The Bronx. John has been serving the people of that district for 31 years. His family has been serving for even longer. John’s father was a NY City Police officer, and John maintained the family tradition by taking on the mantle of the NYPD. He was initially assigned to the neighborhood stabilization unit, and later followed in his father’s footsteps was assigned to the Harbor Unit. He served as operations coordinator as a member of the Harbor George Unit in College Point Queen. He received multiple commendations for bravery and excellence in the line of duty. However, after suffering a serious knee injury in the line of duty he underwent multiple surgeries, he was forced to retire in July 1991.

After working for a few years in private security and getting his undergrad degree at Fordham, John returned home to his alma mater St. Raymond’s High School for Boys, where he teaches history and government (Civics), since 1998. John has been teaching the children of the community for over 21 years. He is the 14th District’s version of Mr. Kotter — (1970’s TV show reference). He is a man that cares about his community.

John spoke to me about his love for education. His students and their future are what drives him. He told me many stories of his classes and his approach to teaching. John conveyed his love for his students, as well as the future of the community he calls home. Right out of central casting, John admits, that it was his students who coaxed him into running for office.

“I told them that it would be difficult defeating an entrenched incumbent like Joe Crowley. It was pointed out to me by my students that Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez pretty much made my excuse– and I’ll use their quotes– ‘a lame one!’ ”

But what does this High School Civics teacher want to accomplish as a representative of Congress? Over the next few weeks, I will outline John’s positions and begin to show the differences between him and his opponents.

Education:

Understandably, John’s stand on education is his strongest point. John believes that education SHOULD be the Civil Rights fight of the 21st Century. Access to a superior education should not be limited to those of economic privilege, and he is a strong supporter of school choice. Any and all avenues must remain open so that all have a pathway to success. Parents are looking for solutions to their children’s future.

What does that mean? In NYC, the fight for a good education comes from the students, and their ability to succeed. There are competing issues everywhere at home, in school and the outside environment. Where you go to school is an important factor in your ability to succeed. Throughout the district, and throughout the city, there are good schools and bad schools. John strongly feels that your choice of schools should not be limited to your address.

“We have spent 50 years lowering the standard so that the masses must settle for a bad education, while politicians and other elites send their children to better schools. What happened to rewarding exceptional students with a possibility? Instead, our culture has decided to bring our public schools down to the lowest level. I often wonder if people like Ben Carson would have achieved greatness within those parameters.”

Many of the students of St. Raymonds come from economically distressed homes. They attend the school because Parents believe their children are the future. Many of the parents struggle mightily to keep their children enrolled to get a private education. Because they know that is their best chance for a better life. This is true as much today, as it was 45 years ago when we attended St. Raymond’s as freshmen. John honors the commitment that the parents have made, by committing himself to the success of his students.

Teachers like John believe that too. In a letter supporting his candidacy William De Toma Class of 2005 said the following about his teacher “Mr. Cummings”:

“What I remember most of all is that when I fell behind in grades (and I was never a great student, educationally). Mr. Cummings would take the time to pull me aside after class and talk to me. He would say to me:

“Billy, you’re a great kid, and I don’t want to see you fail. Meet with me on your free’s and once or twice after school so I can work with you to improve your grades. You don’t need to attend summer school for this subject, and you shouldn’t need it”.

Do you know what? I did just that! Within a few weeks, my history grades class went from below 65 to the mid-’80s. In one case, he allowed me extra time on a report because he understood I also had to stay extra hours after school for math. (Because well, I was just plain terrible at math). He helped me succeed and to graduate.

Mr. Cummings did not HAVE to waste his time after school, nor during his free period during the day. But he was like that — he cared about me, and about my future, and other students as well. He always took the time out to make sure I would pass, not by feeding me answers, but by teaching me how to learn and study, and by teaching me what history meant to me and how it related to today’s world.”

John platform is based on the following: The more local education is, the more efficiently it operates. “The Federal Government’s role in education should be limited, at best, and that parents and local communities are best equipped to deal with the educational challenges of their children.”

“It is natural that the more government is involved in not only what is taught, but how it is taught, the further we get away from an education that is focused on the needs of the community“. John supports vocational training, understanding that an academic education may not be the best solution for all. Not that the basics won’t be taught, but a focus on community and the jobs in the community are most important.

“Getting a college degree may not be best for everyone. Some people may be well suited to a vocational job that does not require a college degree. The primary focus of schooling is to prepare people to work in the community and contribute”

Education is John’s signature issue. It is his reason to get in the race and to serve the people of the 14th district. To John this is personal. But for the most part — his students are saying it for him Billy said the following in his letter to John supporting his candidacy:

“…Now I am in my mid 30’s. I have become politically knowledgeable as I have grown older, and I realize the importance of having people like Mr. Cummings stand up for me. He is not somebody that wants to hand out answers or grades, he wanted us to earn that!”

John said the following during our discussions:

“I grew up in Parkchester with you. I played baseball on the same ball fields that many of my students play on today. I went to school in the same school I am teaching now, and I grew up in the inner city. I understand the hard work it takes to achieve your dreams, so when I say “I am you,” I am saying that I have grown up with you, lived with you, and I have frequented the same businesses as you. Unlike the incumbent, I believe that opportunity is available to anyone who wants to put in the work. I have many friends who have achieved their dreams even though they’ve come from hard places. AOC seems to think that is no longer possible without government guaranteeing the result.

“I am you,” is not a fancy slogan. It is what I believe. I am here with you, teaching your children to shoot for the stars like the men who walked on the moon 50 years ago. It was American exceptionalism that made it happen, and I was raised with the belief that anything is possible, and that nothing is impossible. Just ask the men who walked on the moon, if they chose the difficult path, or if success was handed to them on a silver platter.”

As a friend and an independent thinker, I think John deserves a look. He is a quality person who is looking to continue to serve the community, in a much bigger capacity, than he has in the past.

John’s Website is www.Cummings2020.com

On Social Media Twitter: @Cummings2020 Facebook: CummingsCongress

--

--

F. R. D’Onofrio

F.R. D’Onofrio author. of Non-Fiction Book Elvis: The King of Rock and Roll, was published in December 2020. frdonofrio@Elvis_the_king_of_Rockandroll.com