dotGo: things I learned teaching Go

Francesc Campoy
1 min readNov 24, 2014

Last month I had the honor of speaking at dotGo.eu and I decided to talk about what I’ve learned by teaching Go.
The experience of learning a programming language is obviously quite different to learning natural languages, but in my opinion the biggest difference is on the attitude of the student. In this talk I discuss why we should keep a “I’m still learning” attitude longer while learning programming languages.
On the second part of the talk I discuss some of the topics that I’ve found to be hard to learn in Go, notably interfaces.
I hope you enjoy this talk as much as I enjoyed preparing and delivering it.
This is my most personal Go talk so far, which makes feel slightly vulnerable but seems like a risk worth taking.

The slides are available on speakerdeck.

Originally published at blog.campoy.cat.

--

--