Hard Truth: Freelancers From Third World Countries Get The Short End Of The Stick

Your home is your disadvantage but it doesn’t have to be.

Francesca Angeles
The Everyday Freelancer
3 min readFeb 17, 2023

--

I’m a freelancer from the Philippines. I’ve worked with more than 10 clients from different countries and I’ve seen the worst.

Photo by Iris Wang on Unsplash

To give you a gist, I provide qualitative market research services and, at rare occasions, content writing services too. You can find people like me on Fiverr and Upwork, and you’ll find awesome 5-star ratings here and there.

But here’s the hard truth: Clients want to pay less for freelancers in third world countries.

We’re expected to deliver exceptional work for low rates in exchange for the 5-star review.

With the rising gig economy comes the rise of outsourcing talent. It’s hard to admit but clients will prefer to outsource talent from developing countries like Pakistan, Ukraine, and the Philippines. See the top 10 best freelancing countries in 2022.

Put yourself in the client’s shoes. Would you pass on the opportunity to pay cheaper rates for equally exceptional talent? I figured, because I might have done the same.

If you’re a freelancer from a developing country and the cheaper rates work well for you, then that’s great. To each their own, after all.

However, if you’re a freelancer from a developing country and you’re NOT okay with clients haggling for cheaper prices, then let me tell you this: Stand your ground and don’t back down.

Know your value and set your prices according to the value you can bring to your clients.

Why are you getting paid less than your fellow freelancers living in more powerful countries when you deliver the same results?

If you feel like you’re alone in this fight, I’m happy to tell you you’re wrong. Count me in because we’re on the same boat here. In fact, there are many more people out there standing their ground on this.

Truth: your location is your disadvantage.

But it doesn’t have to be.

Signing up for platforms like Fiverr and Upwork requires you to disclose your location. That’s fine! Be honest to your clients and proudly display where you’re from.

Before you engage in any project, set expectations with yourself.

Set your price range and expect the worst — that being the client lowballs you and says they’re working on a tighter budget than the one they initially posted.

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I once worked with a client who said they’d pay me $0.20 per word for a 1,000-word article. After a few days of messaging back-and-forth, they then said the budget has changed and can only pay $20 per 1000-word article. Since I was too shy to back out, I ended up getting paid $0.02 per word instead of the $0.20 per word rate I applied for.

Reminiscing that moment still puts a sour taste in my mouth.

But I’ve seen better days.

If you’re a freelancer, set your price according to your value, not according to where you live.

--

--