Trend of the Week — Boudoir Couture

This week the trend is sexy and sleek, as boudoir chic has returned to the zeitgeist in the most exciting way possible… at Coachella.

Frances May
2 min readApr 23, 2023
Photo by Vitor Monthay on Unsplash

The Trend

This week Rosalia wowed crowds with her jaw-dropping Coachella performance, if you haven’t seen it then you need to watch it now! In it, she wore a sheer pink cut-out dress. Now this is basically all the trends I’ve been discussing for Spring all wrapped up into one bedazzling look, due to its simplicity/purity and the edge of its cut.

Although the pink see-through nature of it gives it purity, you are also able to see through it, giving it that risky quality that is (you guessed it!) bang on trend right now.

The Wider Trend

I feel this look encompasses a new trend I see coming to the forefront, of pure and simply mixed together with racy and risque. It’s pure boudoir couture, as it’s basically a heightened nightwear but for your everyday. I’d be putting it together with the long denim maxis, giving you a staple with something very demure. Also pairing with cargo’s is a winner.

My Predictions

I predict that this demure/ racy contrast will feed straight into summer and that the see-through look will start to pop up more and more. Likewise, with festival season coming up I reckon we’ll start seeing other artists embracing this boudoir couture, especially the sheer fabrics. Let’s see.

--

--

Frances May

I'm an experienced Trend Analyst and Freelance Actor. These are my musings on fashion and life; brought to you with humour and the odd pop culture anecdote. ..