How I think About my Content Business Analytics

Francisco A. Kemeny
8 min readJan 6, 2023

My approach to tracking my business goals.

Prompt: cooking, home kitchen, extreme far shot, photorealistic

I run a content marketing business. Producing written, video, and social media content in various channels and platforms. Much of my content gets tracked in sales, either subscriptions or affiliates I work with.

Tracking is a fundamental activity in my day-to-day work. I take an agile marketing approach, which requires me to track multiple metrics constantly.

Analytics is often seen as daunting, with many people thinking that tracking a plethora of metrics will solve all their problems. However, this approach needs to be revised and can lead to overwhelm. The key to successful analytics is to focus on learning. Quickly learning from the data ensures that each new release, content, product feature, or whatever you produce improves upon the last.

Unfortunately, the priority is often placed on something other than learning. Many digital businesses add analytics as an afterthought. This leads to a frustrating process where the analytics are looked at and then ignored, with no real purpose or understanding of how to use the data to improve the product.

To truly succeed with analytics, it is essential to make learning the priority.

--

--

Francisco A. Kemeny

Sharing my 20 years of experience in digital marketing. I write twice a day about Digital Marketing and Agency/Consulting Services.