It’s OK to Quit!

Frank Barragan
2 min readSep 30, 2017

I've never been one to give up, but this time……I just couldn't continue.

It was an early Monday morning when it happened. I was nervous, anxious, and filled with doubt. But, I had made my decision and I had to follow through with it no matter what! It was time!

The timing is never quite right for important decisions like this. You wait and wait, and before you know it one year goes by, then two, then three. This had been brewing for quite some time now and I couldn't let it go on much further. This was it!

I wrote up my letter of resignation………..effective…………immediately!

Walking out of the office and through the hallway I felt a sense of intense panic. What the fuck was I thinking? What had I done? But it was too late now. I had reached the point of no return and there was no going back!

That entire day was a huge roller coaster ride. I had oscillated through complete opposite states of emotion. I went from panic to joy, from fear to peace, from excitement to depression. I have to admit, it takes some big balloons to proclaim something like that and make it happen. But at the time, I felt more delusional than courageous.

It’s been 10 months and 10 days since that life-altering day. I have been pursuing my passion now full time; Web Design.

I love creating things and I love autonomy. And having my own business has afforded me both so far. I may not be making as much as I was when I had a steady paycheck, but the ability to work a very flexible schedule more than makes up for it.

But it hasn't been easy! It’s been a rough road filled with lots of lessons learned and lots of challenges. It’s been quite an adventure, and all…..because I decided to quit!

Most people may not

--

--

Frank Barragan

Tech geek, code monkey, life lover, entrepreneur, STEM Advocate, all around decent guy