16mm film emulation

Frank Ding
3 min readAug 29, 2020

--

In a world where digital cameras become more widespread and more advanced, more and more of the media we consume is crisp, sharp, clean… scientifically and technically accurate. I used to obsess over sharpness: wanting more megapixels in my camera, adding sharpness and clarity in editing, all in the pursuit of achieving maximum detail in my images. Over the years as my visual taste evolves, I have gradually fallen out of the desire to achieve sharp images. I find they look a little unnatural, and feel too aggressive, clinical, and therefore unemotional. Earlier this year, I went as far as to spend actual money to buy a filter for my camera lens to make my images softer. and I’m loving it.

a photograph I shot on a hike last weekend (with softening filter)

Last week, I learned about how I can step even further away from the realm of “digital” looking images: emulating 16mm film.

In photography, typically the larger the format, the higher the quality (sharper, less noise, etc). So 16mm film, being smaller than the standard 35mm film size for still photographs, is “lower quality,” in that it’s less sharp, it’s more grainy, and often has other quirky imperfections (such as red glowing around highlights called halation). It’s the combination of these things that gives it a more distant or dreamy feel. 16mm feels like a memory.

I won’t go into detail to summarize the details in this video but I was very excited to learn the techniques to emulate 16mm film because it expands my “creative toolbox.” Now the types of “looks” I can create (and therefore emotions I can evoke), are now wider.

Update (9/3/20):
I edited some footage I shot last weekend with this technique!

This is fun and all, but ultimately what I took away from this is a realization: I realized how ALIVE I feel since I decided to drop computer science (CS) to go all-in on my dream to become a professional cinematographer/photographer.

With CS, my motivation to learn stemmed from necessity. If I didn’t master my data structures, I would struggle in computer algorithms. If I didn’t do well in class, I might not get hired for internships. I was learning out of a need to avoid negative consequences.

With film, my motivation comes from genuine passion. If I learn how to light, I’ll be able to create more beautiful images which is artistically fulfilling. If I master this film emulation technique, it increases my chances of getting hired for music videos or commercial shoots that want that “look”. If I learn business techniques from professional wedding photographers, I’ll be able to start growing my photography business while pursuing film. If I listen to all cinematography podcasts I can find, I‘ll gain valuable industry insights and learn about career-essential techniques. I voraciously devour information and I’m still hungry because I learn out of a need to chase positive consequences.

I’m now 100% in control of my future, because I’m aware that every decision I make will either push me closer toward my dreams, or not. FINALLY, learning has become fun, and I couldn’t be more grateful for this.

just inserting this screenshot so I can use it as the preview image for this post.

--

--