Frank Font
5 min readOct 11, 2019

--

Not everyone can work from home.

But some people can.

Is it better?

The Perfect Work Commute

Ten minutes. That’s what I found was perfect for me. Less is too close to home. And my home is not where my coworkers spend their work time. And I like my coworkers.

A zero minute commute, which means you can work in your underwear, also means you might be bringing too much work into your home.

It’s nice to have a place to get away from work even if, like me, you enjoy it.

Yeah, I’m out of sync with the universe.

The right answer is working from home is best.

It isn’t.

Let me share some reasons.

Your Home Sucks

Maybe your home is awesome. As a home. You know, a place to live and relax. Maybe it’s also a good place to entertain friends and family too. You know not work.

Maybe you even have a terrific dedicated space for your work. That’s nice. Carving out some of your house and donating it to the work obligation.

Still that’s too close to the living areas because it is in your home. Too easy for work to never really end. And ending is important.

--

--

Frank Font

I’m a profoundly stupid guy who started learning only after admitting that. Confidently unsure.