David Kovalev

Frank Rapacciuolo
UI / UX Design Interviews
8 min readMay 9, 2014

--

I’m a freelancer, working from the sunshine state, Sarasota FL. I enjoy the warm climate here, beaches, sunsets and the overall tropical environment. Got rooted in here, with my lovely wife and 3 kiddos. I’m a Christian, follower of Jesus Christ and the Bible is my wireframe for life.

When your friends or parents ask to you what job do you do, how do you answer?

I basically tell them that I make websites pretty and usable. I gather a bunch of data, concepts & goals from the client and organize the workflow and usability experience of each step to create an effective app or product. I also have projects that sometimes involve branding, icons, print work, illustrations, etc.

What is your background, how did you train?

As a kid, I’ve always been fascinated with drawing, painting, sculpting and anything artsy really. Actually, often times, I’d sit there with a little kitchen knife carving a face into the apple I was eating… face apples tasted better! Throughout my school years, art was always the class I look forward to most. I was introduced to Graphic Design in high school and thats where it really captured my passion. After graduating, I went to a local technical institute and completed all their muli-media design classes. Afterwards, I’ve worked for numerous companies as a graphic designer, where I slowly crafted my skill and mastered my tools. Lots of self-taught lessons, books and internet tutorials contributed to my current skill level.

What the web can do to make this world a better place? How did the web improve your life?

Web improved my life by adding quality to it. I don’t think it simplified it, just added another dimension to exploring and innovate things that could never be done before. Unlimited knowledge is a swipe away. Curiosity can be quenched anytime. Entertainment could captivate you for hours. Instantly get connected to your family and colleagues. The standards have become fast, quality-rich and intuitive.

Can you show us three examples of interface that in your opinion improved human life?

One: Apple products seem to have set the standards in many ways, bringing together functionality and innovation.

Two: Google Products (maps, docs, earth, search engine, android, youtube, gmail, and the list goes on).

Three: Kickstarter; I feel that this has opened many doors of opportunity for practically anyone with a good idea to get noticed and build a client base with little risk or investment.

On quora.com, time ago there was a long discussion in answer to the question “what is the most intuitive interface ever created?”; according to Felipe Rocha it is the nipple, in your opinion instead? (http://www.quora.com/What­are­the­most­intuitive­interfaces­ever­ created)

I think simple things that we are so used to are usually the most intuitive because we do it w/o even thinking about it. A simple on/off light switch. A computer keyboard. A traffic light. A grocery receipt. Its hard to go with one.

How is your work day type?

I’m an early bird… I love waking up early morning, brewing some coffee, making my peanut butter and raspberry jelly sandwich. Taking a step outside to feel the cool misty air, consuming the peek of dawn and hearing the birds singing praise to our Creator. So much to appreciate in the beginning of the day, a fresh start.

What is the most stimulating and challenging project you have accomplished?

I’ve worked on lots of complex projects. I think by far I’d have to say the Wellness Living backend admin & client portal. The control they get is astonishing from client management, instructors and how they get paid, adding classes, schedule exceptions, rewards point system, widget control, booking process, report charts, and SO much more.

Wellnessliving website

What is, among the existing digital services, the one you wanted to do?

UX/UI Design. I love getting a mess from clients and organizing it to make it usable to a specific user.

Many designers commit the mistake of starting a project directly from Photoshop, is there a perfect design method? What is your approach to the creative process?

No, there is no perfect design method. Projects very in size, budget and type. I think its safe to say that for certain things, there should be a locked-down process, but even then, everyone has their method and preference. Here is my basic workfolw:

  • My ‘usual’ process begins with listening. I listen to the client, ask questions and take notes. Collaboration on Basecamp.
  • Next will be the research and brainstorming phase. This is a vital step that most designers overlook. Lots of industries have certain standards and w/o researching and understanding this new project, you could easily sail in the wrong direction.
  • Sketching/Wireframing: With the tools available today (like a simple POP (prototyping on paper) where you can easily convert your sketches into a live navigable prototype) I don’t see why some skip this step, it has a large return of benefit based on invested time.
  • Design and Presentation: I use photoshop 90% of the time when designing and depending on what I’m working on, I’ll have an arsenal of tools ready to get the job done quicker/smarter.
  • 10 The “design” is an important part of our analogic life. What is the role of the designer in our digital life?

To simply put it, the designer’s job is to create something that can stand out (by using the basic design rules) from everything else, while understanding the product, keeping it fresh and trendy, and also making it possible for developers to create a final result that will reach a maximum amount of users while maintaining its usability.

Do you believe it is important for a designer to have a deep knowledge of matters as User Experience, Interaction Design, Product Design, and Front­end development?

Yes and No. This doesn’t mean the designer needs to ever touch a single line of code. I rarely jump into code, I know that coders do it better and faster… it’s their passion! However I do think that designers need to know what that code/product/usability tactic is capable of so they can lay the ground work for the next guy. So yes, a somewhat deep knowledge but being skilled in code isn’t required.

Wellnessliving website

In which way do you make a difference between User Interface and user experience?

To me, User Interface (UI) is the way it looks and connects people by sending a clear message. User Experience (UX) is more psychological; what do I want the user to see first?; what happens if they leave this blank?; Will this turn the user away? It’s really about putting yourself into the shoes of the user. UX and UI work together.

TapsBook App

What is your relationship with the developers? There are people that have a relationship of continuous confrontation and other of deep friendship, where do you collocate with respect to this question?

Depending on the project, sometimes I never meet the developers and just send over the raw files. There are other times where I take on a project that involves me to outsource the dev work to a few developers I always have at hand. I prefer that method because this way we’re in full collaboration and the the delivered package is usually where it needs to be in terms of quality details.

How do you think that your career and job will evolve in the next 5 years?

In this industry there are 2 roads. 1) Keep evolving and adapting to the often new innovation and technolgy changes (ex: designing for retina and responsive screens) or 2) Stay where you are, keep doing what you’re doing, ignore the trends, stay comfortable.

In 5 years if I go with option 1, I’ll still be providing my services the same way I am now but to different media types and innovations at that time If I go with option 2, I will gradually disappear or will barely keep up.

What do you think about Dribbble? Is it a good way to get a job? What’s the best way to find a job as designer?

I owe Dribbble more than they’ll ever know, they got me to where I am today! I worked hard and I never gave up, I set goals and achieved goals. I don’t think theres a specific secret formula that guarantees anything, but for me it was; working hard (learning and practicing), keeping up to date, participation, critiquing/helping others, believing in your work, etc. There are many ways of finding work and here are a few that I’d recommend:

Remember, sometimes you have to start small and gradually work your way up. Never stop learning.

What book would you advice to a Junior Designer?

  • Don’t Make Me Think (3rd Edition now)
  • Design with the Mind in Mind

Always as far as advices: what tools for the design? What tools for the projects management ?

Design Tools:

  • Photoshop & Illustrator (duh) also AE, ID
  • Pixelapse (must have) — versioning control
  • Look into photoshop extensions (pixel dropr, subtle patterns, extensis, etc)
  • Skala Preview App (for mobile devices)
  • Moqups / swordsoft layout / HotGloo
  • InvisionApp (for prototyping existing designs and getting feedback)
  • Sketch App is growing recognition, good to start early
  • Pen / Pencil / Paper (always explore these)
  • Feedly — READ READ READ articles

Project Managment:

  • Basecamp for sure (apollo is good too)
  • Harvest time tracking and invoicing
  • SignNow for contracts

Dribbble : https://dribbble.com/kovadave

Website : http://kovastudio.com/

FRONTIERSX November 12–13th, 2015, Milan, Italy

As the meeting point of design, technology and everything interactive, this year we’ll dive deep through innovation and disruption in Banking, Health and Retail industries.

GET TICKETS

--

--