Things I Am Passionate About

Franky Wu
3 min readJan 29, 2019

Having things you enjoy doing in life is the most important thing in the world. People today are already so limited by society because they are forced to live a conventional life. People have to follow a certain path in life to be considered “successful.” Humans have to accomplish specific goals to attain a socially acceptable life, like going to school, having a well paid job, marrying, having children, and buying a big house and fancy car. However, I feel like that should not be the case because I consider success relative to what one appreciates and has a passion for.

“When you’re happy, you enjoy the music. When you’re sad, you understand the lyrics.” -Frank Ocean-

Photo from https://weheartit.com/entry/24190355

One of the activities I really love to do in my life is listening to music and playing musical instruments. Music is not tangible. You can’t mate with it, eat it, or drink it . It doesn’t protect against the rain or cold. And yet we have always prized music — or well beyond prized, loved it. Why do we humans crave music all the time? The world of music offers me happiness when I'm depressed; it makes me more relaxed. In truth, music provides a temporary shelter from the downpour of reality. Every time I play my violin or piano I feel like I’m being carried to a different world; a place where I do not have to worry about anything and can just enjoy the moment. Music also has the power to bring people together. I get to have more opportunities to socialize with people and even make friends because of the common ground we have.

“Just play. Have Fun. Enjoy the game.” -Micheal Jordan-

Photo from https://fineartamerica.com/featured/young-woman-basketball-player-01-in-watercolor-pablo-romero.html

Another event that keeps me motivated in life is playing and watching other people play basketball. Every time I play basketball it gives me adrenaline. It brings out my competitiveness and makes me want to win terribly. In many ways, basketball made me a better person because I became more competitive and self-directed, and learned to not give up. The qualities that I gained from playing basketball can easily apply to my life. Becoming competitive is vital because it makes you want to improve all the time. Being self-directed can be helpful to all areas of life: working, studying, and pursuing your passion. Another quality I gained from playing basketball is keeping myself motivated. Motivation allows me to continue the long and sometimes colourless journey of life, because I know there are joyful times coming.

All in all, the point I'm trying to make is that people should not let themselves be puppets controlled by society. We should be our authentic selves and live a life that is filled with harmony. People need to appreciate what is around them and what they themselves are doing instead of living just to exist. We all should be the director of our own life, not a person who follows a script that other people give you.

--

--