National Museum and CCP

Franciano Deroca
4 min readJul 6, 2015

--

Last June 2, 2015, I went to the National Museum to take a selfie with the following object:

1) Facade of National Museum

2) Old Senate Hall

3) Guillermo Tolentino’s Venus Sculpture “

4) Juan Luna’s Spoliarium

5) Any sculpture by famous Filipino

These were the following objects that we had to take a selfie. At first it’s kind of difficult because there were people inside the museum. I thought to myself “Nakakahiya naman eto”. But I get used to it. Not only I took a selfie, but I also learn some things from the museum. Like for example the Old Senate Hall that used for court trials.

After I took a selfie, I took a picture of 5 artworks that amazed me. These are the following artworks that I took a picture:

1) Mother’s Revenge by Dr. Jose Rizal

2) Painted Window of Christ the King by Cesar Amorsolo

3) Governor Ricardo Carnicero by Dr. Jose Rizal

4) Death March by Dominador Castañada

5) Rape and Massacre in Ermita by Diosdado M. Lorenzo

The 1st artwork is called Mother’s Revenge by Dr. Jose Rizal. The story behind this sculpture is when Rizal was exiled in Dapitan, he has a pet dog. The children in Dapitan played with the dog until it was killed by a crocodile. To honor his pet, he sculpted a statue with the mother of the pet dog is fighting the crocodile. It’s one of the masterpieces of Rizal because he has a soft side for animals. The 2nd artwork is the painted window of Christ the King. When I saw this artwork, I feel amazed. I suddenly felt light. Like all of my burdens and problem and gone. For me, this is my favorite artwork. Governor Ricardo Carnicero was a sculpted face of Ricardo Carnicero done by Rizal. When Rizal was exiled in Dapitan, he agreed to live in the house of Ricardo Carnicero, the commandant. They become close friends and Rizal dedicated a poem for him, A Don Ricardo Carnicero for his birthday. The 4th artwork is called Death March. This artwork caught my attention because this depicts The Bataan Death March. I told myself “Baka ganito nga nangyare nung Death March”. The last artwork intrigues me the most. It’s called Rape and Massacre in Ermita. This intrigues me because of the artwork itself. The artwork shows how the Japanese Soldier during the World War 2 abuse Filipinos to the point they kill them and rape Filipino women.

It was a nice experience in the museum. It’s just my 2nd time going to the museum so I get tired easily. But I know that this will not be my last. I’ll definitely go back to the museum after the renovations are finished.

After my National Museum explore last June 2. I went to the Cultural Center of the Philippines or CCP last June 3. I took 3 painting that amazed and caught my attention.

1)Metamorphosis I by Jaime De Guzman

2)Metamorphosis II by Jaime De Guzman

3) GomBurZa Martyrs by Jaime De Guzman

Metamorphosis I and II and GomBurZa Martyrs are all painted by Jaime De Guzman. These painting are “Dark”. By dark I mean, a little bit of scary. Maybe because of the color. But these 3 paintings for me are the best so far. Especially GomBurZa Martyrs. The artist somehow painted the famous GomBurZa priest in a different way. Instead of the common priest who wore white robe, the priests in the painting are all wearing black. So it’s like the opposite. GomBurZa Martyrs for me, is the best painting I’ve seen so far.

--

--