The Fifth Wheel

Frederic Moseley Jr
25 min readJun 1, 2024

--

This story took place during my third year of college. I was working at a local greasy spoon. It was located close to the campus, which was perfect for me since, at the time, I didn’t have a car. I was flipping patties on the grill, humming to myself, fully content with my life. I could not have been any happier. I was attending my dream college and was far from home. My boss was Richard Jones, but he asked everyone to call him Dick. He came in and asked how I was doing. He was a fat old man with balding hair and was always caught wearing a greasy apron, whether he was cooking or not. Dick, in contradiction to his name, was jovial and rarely ever got upset, even when someone made a mistake. He had an endless amount of patience. He was a great boss to work for and I counted myself lucky.

After my shift, I made my way home. Home was a seven-room boarding house ran by a crazy, wild-haired woman, who when encountered, could be frequently found having conversations with herself. Any time I came upon her in this state, I would think to myself: all that she is missing is a house full of cats. The place was run down, with leaky pipes and exposed wiring running along the walls. Although, the place was all I could afford, and I could not complain. It was paradise compared to where I originated from.

Walking in, I was preparing to run upstairs, hoping that the house’s public bathroom was free. I wanted to wash off the distinct stench of greasy burgers and deep-fried onions. But before I could reach the first step, Miss Applegate called out to me; “Oh, John, can you come here for a moment?” Not sure what she was calling me for, I groaned and turned back. Slowly, I made my way into her little room. Miss Applegate was sitting on a well-worn green couch; in front of her was a ball of yellow and blue yarn that she was gingerly knitting. I was in no mood to ask what she was making. Her hair was tied into a neat little bun, and, luckily, she was not in one of her muttering states. Stepping inside, I asked: “Needed me for something?” Without looking up from her knitting, she pointed to the little table by the door and answered. “You have mail.” I looked down at the small, octangular glass table, and on top was a variety of scattered mail. I dug through it until I found a letter addressed to me. I quickly snatched up the letter and, without thanking Miss Applegate, rushed out the door and bounded up the stairs. The idea of having a shower was temporarily forgotten.

The letter was from the people managing my scholarship, they were informing me that I was dangerously close to losing said scholarship for the next semester. The only way to avoid this loss was if I brought up my grade in math. I sat at the edge of my bed, fraught with fear. I was already working full time to cover the cost of classes the scholarship did not cover, not to mention the cost of books, and my rooming expenses, and food! Here I was, about to lose it all because of a D in math. I was only taking college Algebra, yet anytime I broke out my book and tried to study, the numbers and letters blurred together. It might as well all been written in Greek. I wanted to weep, the very idea of having to leave college and go back home with only a semester and half left filled me with dread.

I thought about home and my parents, the real possibility of me having to return to that broken environment was just too much. I was born in a one-horse town in the middle of Texas, my father was a narcissist and a conspiracy nut, the type that would tell you all about how the nasty elite behind the government control everything. My mother was diagnosed with schizophrenia. Being an only child made it ten times worse since both parents used me as a sounding board to unload their rants on. When I decided to go to college and escape, my father was adamantly against it. He informed me how all schools were full of “commies” and by joining said schools I too would become one. Even though he had money, lots of it, he refused to help in any way. So, I worked hard in high school, and when I was offered a scholarship that would pay for part of my classes, I jumped at the chance. Taking what money, I had saved up, which was not much, I boarded the first bus out of town and made my way to the city. As if fate was on my side, I quickly found my room and job on the first day. Though it may seem silly or absurd to me now, at that time in my life, I was living the dream. With that letter in my hands, my dream was unraveling.

An hour later, I was at the laundromat, staring at the bulletin board, studying the notices, personal ads, lost pet posters. There was just so much cluttered on the wall. People were selling TVs, clothes, even plants. There were also coupons for local pizza joints, among other fast-food establishments. Within the many posters, someone had tacked up a picture of a winking cat, which was placed neatly next to someone who desperately needed a free toaster and had a large list of things to trade for it. What I should have been doing was studying and figuring out how to bring up my math grade instead of standing here, staring at the stupid bulletin board. But I could not help it. I felt stuck. My mind was back home, wondering exactly how I was going to face asking my parents for help, or to get my old room back. I was so distracted by my thoughts that I did not notice the beautiful girl who had entered the laundromat until she came up to me. “Excuse me.” She grabbed my attention. I turned and stood in utter awe. She was tall, with long, dirty blonde hair, which touched just short of the small of her back. Her warm, blue eyes captivated me so much that I did not realize that I looked stupid just standing there. When I did notice, I tried to adjust myself and regain my composure, but failed miserably. I was sure she noticed, but she politely ignored my blunder, and I was thankful for that.

She smiled. “You don’t happen to have any spare laundry detergent? I seem to have run out.” I tried my best to return the smile. “Sure, here.” I reached over and picked up my detergent box, handing it to her. She took it from me, and her smile only grew. “Thank you, I appreciate this.” She then walked over to a washing machine just opposite the one I was using. After loading her clothes with a scoop of detergent, she handed it back to me before continuing. “My name is Lucy, what’s yours?”

“John.” I responded. She smiled, jumping up onto one of the washing machines. “You from around here?” She asked. Taking a seat at the table behind me, I answered. “Sort of. I’m going to college at A&M.” This brightened her up and she responded. “No way! Me too! What’s your major?”

“Computers.” I replied. Lucy laughed and I clarified that my major was Computer Science. Lucy listened as I described my classes and goals. Once I was done explaining she said: “Must be nice to have it all figured out.”

“You don’t have a major?”

Lucy shook her head. “I’m just getting started. It’s so overwhelming. So many career paths, and yet I have no desire for any of them.” I understood her. When I first read the college course catalog, I was completely lost. I picked computers because I had always wanted to know how programs worked, and always had dreams of building my own operating system. The idea of being the next Bill Gates was in the forefront of my mind. Dumb now, but at eighteen I thought anything was possible.

We chatted some more; she told me all about her home life. She had three sisters and a little brother who she adored. She had graduated high school as a valedictorian and was prom queen. She wrinkled her nose at the latter, telling me that it was silly, and doesn’t even remember what happened to the tiara. “It was just plastic, wouldn’t be surprised if it had broken.” She tilted her head, looking at me with questioning eyes. “What about you John, what was home like for you?”

I wasn’t sure how to answer that loaded question. How do you explain that your parents were monsters, and that you grew up in a verbally abusive household? I did my best to skirt around the topic and decided to focus more on telling her about my time in high school instead. After a while, we got back around to talking about college. When I explained my dilemma with my math grade, Lucy came over and stood next to me. The instant she did, my skin began to tingle, and I could feel myself warming up. I scooted over as she sat next to me. “You ever think of joining a study group?” She questioned.

“What’s a study group?” I responded.

“It’s a group of people that get together and study.” She laughed. “I’m part of one. We meet every Thursday. I’m sure that it could help. I’m not great at math, but my roommate Gracy is a genius.” As she spoke, I noticed just how close we were sitting. I had to adjust myself in fear she would notice how her closeness was affecting me. “I believe that’s her major.” She looked up in remembrance.

I nodded. My face was flushed, and I wondered if she really had noticed. Luckily, my machine buzzed, and I jumped down, discreetly adjusting my jeans. I started to transfer my clothes from the washer to the dryer. Lucy waited until I was done before she continued. “What do you think?” She asked. I didn’t answer right away as I was still trying to distract myself from what I was feeling. After loading the dryer, I turned back to her and finally answered. “Sounds like fun.” Lucy beamed. The rest of that time, we talked about all manner of things. Our favorite music and TV shows. What books we were currently reading and what books we would like to read. So on and so forth. After a while, I treated her to a drink from the coke machine. For the moment, all was right with the world. Once our laundry was done and we parted ways, she asked once again if I was going make it to her study group on Thursday. I assured her that I wouldn’t miss it for the world. That night I laid and bed and dreamed of a future with Lucy. I was sure that it was fate that I had met her.

That Thursday I rushed through my duties at work as fast as possible. I had worked it out with Dick. He would allow me to take off early each Thursday, but only if I had all the dishes done for my shift before I left. Normally this wouldn’t have been so important except this week we were having a special on chili and the number of dishes piled up made it almost insurmountable.

“How’s it going kid.” He asked looking at the many bowls and spoons left to clean. I tried my best to smile, and I replied, “Just fine boss I will get them done in time.” He nodded but I was sure he didn’t believe me. But I got all of them done with plenty of time to spare and didn’t waste any more time. I quickly made my way over to the library. Arriving I found Lucy standing just outside the doors to the library, she waved when she saw me and then called out.

“You made it.”

I smiled and replied, “Yep I’m here.” Returning the smile, she opens the door for me and then said. “Come on I’ll introduce you to the rest of the gang.” I followed her into the library to a little room in the back. Sitting at the table were three other people, two guys and a girl. I had expected the girl, I assumed that was her roommate Gracy, but was taken aback seeing the two other guys. Standing at the end of the table Lucy with pleasure introduced me to the rest of the group. “Guys, this is John, he is going join us. John, to the right is Gracy and that goofy looking guy sitting next to her is Trey. Then there on the left is Tom.” They all smiled and greeted me, and I took that moment to take them all in. Trey was a tall and lanky man. He had wide set eyes and dark, unkept brown hair. Gracy was a petite, bespectacled girl, with strawberry blonde hair that she kept in a ponytail. Tom was tall and handsome man with blue eyes and had blonde hair, which was styled into a fade with long sideburns. Trey took the moment to speak. “Take a seat.” He motioned towards a chair. I went and sat in one of the empty chairs next to Trey, and I was quickly disappointed, but not surprised, when Lucy sat next to Tom. As everyone was getting their books and notes situated, Trey engaged me in conversation.

“So, John, what’s your major?”

“Computer Science.” I said with pride. Trey nodded and replied. “It is the wave of the future.” I noticed that he hadn’t taken any books out, nor anything at all. Instead, he sat there with his arm around Gracy, a shit eating grin on his face.

“What about you? What’s your major?” I asked. Laughing, he replied. “Don’t have one.”

“Oh, not sure what you want to do?” I questioned.

Trey, who pulled his arms away from Gracy, leaned back and placed his hands behind his head. Then, with that grin I would later define as his signature look, answered. “Nope, I am not enrolled in college.”

“Wait, really?! Then how come you’re here?” I was shocked. He just continued smiling. “Gracy, of course.” He placed his arm back around her shoulders, pulling her in for a kiss.

What I was curious about was the deal between Tom and Lucy. All the time we were talking, she had not mentioned him. I had stupidly assumed she was single, but now I wasn’t so sure. Before I could breach the subject, Lucy finally spoke up. “I think we should leave the Q and A for later, after we study.” She then looked around the table, waiting to see if anyone was going to protest. When no one did, she smiled and went on. “Good, because we have a couple of hours before the library closes. We should hustle.” Everyone agreed and quickly began the task of learning math. Since Lucy was taking the lead, she went straight for the big guns.

“Here’s one for yall:

. Anyone wanna try it?” I was still trying to process what she had just said when Trey suddenly stood up. “Well, I’ll leave you crazy kids to it. John, it was nice meeting you. Gracy, my love, see you afterwards.” Gracy nodded and went back to copying the captivating equation Lucy had supplied us. I could see this was going be a rough couple of hours. Not only would I be forced to try and learn this almost preposterous math, but I would have to do all of it sitting across from Lucy and Tom.

After study hall had ended, we all left. Trey was waiting on a bench just outside the front doors and Gracy quickly ran into his arms. “How’d it go?” He inquired. Gracy replied, “Just awful.” We all laughed. Trey looked at us. “How about we all go out and get a drink? John, you’re welcome to join us.” I glanced to where Lucy and Tom were standing. They weren’t holding hands or anything, but the look I got from Tom said all that needed to be said. He was not welcoming me. I turned to Trey. “Thank you, but I have an early class tomorrow.” I politely declined. I then turned my attention back to Lucy. “Thanks for the help with the math problems, think I learned a lot tonight. Thanks again for inviting me.”

“No problem. We’ll see you next Thursday, then?” She asked.

“Sure, definitely!” I replied. I watched as they all began walking towards the parking lot. Trey and Gracy holding hands, Tom and Lucy walked closely together. Then something I didn’t expect, Lucy turned and gave me a forlorn look. I didn’t know how to take that look then, but I can tell you now I spent the rest of the night thinking about it.

Weeks went by. I would show up dutifully every Thursday and spend two hours learning math while also pining for Lucy. We would all talk as we worked. Sometimes Trey stayed, sometimes he didn’t. When I told a joke and Lucy laughed, my heart would swell. But each night would end the same. Trey, or even Lucy, would ask me to join them all for drinks, and each night I would decline, my excuse always the same: the early morning class. I knew I shouldn’t have kept torturing myself, that I should have just manned up and just focused on the math. But I kept thinking back on the day I met Lucy and wondering: am I being foolish? Was I seeing signs that didn’t exist. I knew I should have either just asked the questions rattling around in my head or forget about it and focus on the math. And I am sure this would have continued if Lucy hadn’t decided to take matters in her own hands.

I was walking out of my Friday afternoon class when Lucy called out. “Hey stranger!” I turned, surprised to see her standing just outside the door. Her blonde hair was tied up into a nice bun, and she wore a white sundress adorned with blue-gold sunflowers. I didn’t miss that it stopped just short of her knees, giving me a glorious view of her immaculate legs. The moment I saw her standing there, I fell madly in love all over again.

“Hey Lucy! How are you?” Lucy just laughed, walking toward me, and intertwining her arm into mine. Instead of answering my question she asked one of her own. “Thought your classes were in the morning?” I blushed and wanted to defend myself, but I stayed quiet. I knew anything I would say would sound stupid, more than likely I would sound dumb anyway. Still smiling, Lucy said, “Walk with me.” Then, just like that, hand in hand, we began to walk away from the campus and down towards a nearby park.

I was confused, a thousand thoughts raced through my mind. What was this? Why are we holding hands? I wanted to ask these questions, but at the same time, I was afraid of the answers. Instead, I walked with her quietly into the park until we came upon an isolated bench. As we sat there, enjoying the breeze and quietness of the day, I patiently waited for her to speak. But Lucy seemed content with just sitting there in silence. After some time, I broke the silence. “What are we doing, Lucy?”

Sighing before taking a deep breath, Lucy answered my question. “Isn’t it obvious?”

Frowning, I waited for her to elaborate. I felt small and stupid. I didn’t want to state the obvious, but I had to ask. “What about Tom?” The moment I said those words, I knew I had fucked up. Irritated, Lucy removed her hand from mine and stood up, not facing me. “What about Tom?” She asked. I didn’t answer, instead just sat there, hands in my lap, looking at the ground. It is amazing the things you observe when you’re trying to avoid a situation. As she stood there, I watched as a caterpillar crawled slowly along the ground between my feet. At that moment, I wished to have switched places with that small creature.

Lucy brought me out of my trance with her next words. “Tom and I are just friends. Look at me John.” When I raised my head and peered into her eyes, she continued. “He has no say in how I live my life, and damn sure in who I date.”

So, that following Thursday when I was asked to join them for a drink, I happily agreed. When Lucy took my hand, I got that tingling feeling again, butterflies in my stomach. I couldn’t be happier.

When we had finished another grueling night of math, instead of joining everyone for a drink, Lucy and I went off on our own. We found a rustic miniature custard stand close to campus. Lucy picked a strawberry custard called Berrylicious Dream and I chose a custard called Caramel Mocha Swirl. Taking our custards, we found space on a picnic table next to the stand and tackled our custards in a suitable manner. It had been a hard grueling night, and this was our reward. After a while, I decided to ask the question that had been nagging me for some time. I knew I had to say something, because if I didn’t, then the pain I was feeling would intensify.

Taking another bite, and as casually as I could, I asked the question. “What is the deal between you and Tom?” Lucy didn’t answer right away, instead she stared off into the distance as she continued to spoon custard into her mouth. I dared not repeat the question, she had heard me, I just needed to be patient. After a few more spoonful’s, Lucy placed her custard down and still not looking my way, answered. “It’s complicated, but it is a fair question, and you deserve to know.” Turning her attention toward me, she continued. “Tom and I dated in high school. No that’s not it. Tom was the love of my life, and I was his. We’ve known one another since the third grade, and from day one we were inseparable.” I sat silently as she spoke, and the more she told me, the more unnerved I became. “We had planned to get married after college, and we would have two point five kids and live happily ever after.”

“What happened?” I asked. Lucy sat silent for a long time, and I thought she wasn’t going answer this question, but when she did, I saw tears in her eyes. “Our senior year, he cheated on me with Mindy Parks. She was this uppity cheerleader, and I hated her guts. I can tell you now, it broke my heart. He tried to apologize, giving me that line you hear in the movies. You know the one that goes, she didn’t mean anything to me.” Standing, she stretched and then turned her face toward the sky, breathing in the now cool air. I hated myself at that moment for ruining such a wonderful evening, but then again, I was glad that she was unpacking all this baggage. She turned back to me and taking her seat and placing her hand in mine she went on. “Regardless we had already been accepted to college here and after a time I did forgive him, but I refused to take him back. That part of our relationship was over, from that day forward we would remain just friends.”

I figured that was all of it, but Lucy continued. “There is something else you need to know.” I waited, and after what felt like forever, she spoke. “Up until recently, Tom and I have been friends with benefits.” I sucked in my breath, not wanting to believe it, but suspecting it all the same. “Before you judge me, I want you to understand something. Tom is the only man I have ever slept with, and I am not some slut. I can promise you that the moment I had decided to pursue something with you was the moment that arrangement ended.” She then took my face and turned it so that I had to look her in the eyes. “I loved Tom, and part of me will always love him, but I will always be faithful.” I sat in stunned silence as she explained.

“You showing up when you did, you broke a barrier that I didn’t even know was surrounding me. I sensed it the very first night after study hall when Trey asked you to join us for a drink. I saw the way Tom reacted, and until that moment I didn’t really see what was right in front of me.”

“Wha…t?” I stuttered. I was dazed, my brain was trying to process everything I was hearing but my mind went blank. I tried again. “What did you see?”

“That Tom truly believed I was still his.” She paused, blowing out a breath. “When I told him that I was breaking off our sexual arrangement because I wanted to date other people, Tom about blew a gasket.” Frowning, her eyes downcast. “Tom really thought I was always going to be his.” Then anger. “Even though many times over the years, any time I even considered doing just that, he would remind me that he could not be faithful.”

“Really!” I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. Lucy nodded, “Exactly, that’s the reaction I had.” Then, like a storm cloud blowing away, she was back to her bright and cheery self. “Well, now here I am with you, and though I will stay friends with Tom, which is all we will be. The question is: can you handle that? Can you trust me?” I took a moment to think it over, but not for very long. I had no reason not to take this chance and I said as much. “Good, but I want to let you know I want to take things slow; I hope you can handle that?”

“Of course, slow is good.”

Lucy smiled and then leaning over she gave me a kiss on the cheek before saying. “Glad to hear that, because I like you, but I need time, I don’t want to rush things.”

“Me too, I really like you as well, and will give you all the time you need.” With that it was official we were a couple, and all was right with the world. At least until Sunday. Little did I know Trey was going to show up and ruin everything.

Sunday was a leisurely day at work, unlike other restaurants in town we didn’t attract much of the after-church crowd. So, most of our Sundays around lunch were light. I used this time to catch up on cleaning and studying. That day I was flipping through a magazine when one of the waitresses poked her head in and spoke. “Hey, John there is someone here to see you.” Not looking up I called over my shoulder, “Who, is it?” I had spent most of that Sunday afternoon daydreaming about Lucy and hoping it would be her. After the amazing weekend we had, I was thrilled at the thought of spending more time with her.

On Friday we saw a romantic comedy at the cinema and Saturday we dined at a fine restaurant and then after a lovely walk through the park, I escorted her home, and we shared our first kiss. It wasn’t anything spectacular, just a gentle thirty second kiss on the lips (no tongue) but was amazing all the same.

When I went out to meet my guest, I was shocked to see Trey standing by the jukebox surveying the selection of songs. He was wearing a black leather jacket, and a Texas A&M ballcap. He was nodding along staring at the jukebox, after a few moments he finally found what he was looking for. Slipping two quarters in the coin slot he pushed a button and Butterfly by Crazy Town came blasting from the speakers. Turning Trey saw me standing there and in his trademark smile said. “Hey John, nice to see you. We need to talk.”

I took him to one of the booths in the back of the diner, the same waitress took our orders, for me I asked for a Dr Pepper, while Trey ordered, burgers, fries, and a chocolate shake. When the waitress had left Trey lean back placing one of his arms across the back of the booth. “Man, if I knew this place had a jukebox I would have come here sooner.” He said tapping his hand along with the beat of the song. I smiled wondering where this conversation was going to lead. Besides having a few drinks with him and the others, I had not seen Trey outside those Thursdays after study hall. Thus, I didn’t see Trey as a friend, yet here we were spending time together at the diner, wanting to talk, while we listen to the jukebox pour out some rap/rock.

When he had received his shake, he thanks the waitress and then leaning forward straw in hand, elbows on the table Trey said. “Bet you want to know what this is all about?”

“Just a bit, guess this isn’t a social call?”

“Nope,” then after taking a long drink from his shake Trey continued. “This is about you and Lucy.”

I was taken aback, what did Trey have to say about me and Lucy? Couldn’t be that he was jealous after all he was with Gracy, and Lucy said nothing about having tensions between her and Trey. Instead of asking any questions I just sat there waiting for Trey to guide the conversation. He just smiled at me and finished off his shake, when the burger and fries arrived, he dipped into his meal not saying a word. I Finally broke the silence when I asked. “What about me and Lucy?” chewing his burger Trey clarified. “Well, it more you, Tom and Lucy.” Crossing my arms I asked, “What does Tom have to do with anything?”

Trey laughed sitting his burger down he said. “Come on you know; I am sure Lucy told you about their past?” I nodded. He smiled that shit eating grin of his before continuing. “She tell you how Tom had cheated on her right?” Again, I nodded, wasn’t sure where he was going with this, and part of me regretted asking the question.

“See I have been friends with those two for a long time, and for me Tom is my best friend.”

I waited for him, not sure where he was going, but curious all the same. “The reason I am bringing any of this up is because I know she didn’t tell you everything.” Pausing waiting to see if I would protest. When I didn’t, he continued. “That cheating that Tom had committed.” Trey had placed cheating in air quotes, the look on my face said all he needed to see. “Yeah, well if you call kissing another girl cheating, I guess he did cheat.”

“Wait…what?” I was flabbergasted. Trey nodded and then asked. “What, you thought he fucked her our something right.”

“Yeah, I mean when Lucy said he had cheated on her I thought you know.” I couldn’t continue. Trey just nodded as he sympathized with me and at that moment I hated Trey. “Dude come on it was high school; he kissed another girl no big deal.” To me it still constituted cheating and I was going say so but then he dropped another bomb on me, and this one took the words from my mouth. “Sex didn’t enter the picture for either one of them until they came to college, and they lost their virginity to one another.”

I was lost. If what he was saying was true, then Lucy slept with Tom even after he “cheated.” My mind was racing, I wondered why he was telling me all of this. Guess Trey saw the look on my face. “Tom loves Lucy and as all his life, and you John are the fifth wheel in this situation.”

“The fifth wheel?” I asked.

“Yeah, you know. Tom and Lucy, me and Gracy, you don’t fit my man. Never will.” Anger flared in me, and I replied. “If that is true then why the fuck is Lucy dating me?” Trey gave me a pitiful look. “You know why.” My anger was not abated, and what I wanted to do was storm out of that diner and far away from that conversation. Part of me did know, or I suspected. But when Trey said the words my heart broke.

“Lucy still holds that grudge over that kiss. But at the same time, Lucy does love Tom, or she wouldn’t still sleep with him all this time.” Then as if he hadn’t destroyed my world enough, he said. “I mean they are hanging out right now, probably just leaving church together.” When I didn’t respond he gave me that grin of his then said. “You didn’t know that they attend church together?” I shook my head, “Lucy told me that they would stay friends, but I didn’t know…”

“Yeah, she probably giving you the; got to take things slow routine?” I didn’t respond to that. “Look I like you John and that is why I am here telling you these awful truths. I hate for you to get hurt.” Too late for that.

“I am not hundred percent sure why she is stringing you along, a large part of me believes she is doing so to make Tom jealous. She probably got the idea the moment she saw Tom get a bit jealous that first night after study hall.” Trey shrugged then continued. “Or hell maybe she doesn’t know what she wants and just wanted to see what other options are out there.” Finishing off his burger, Trey went on. “Look it’s why I am here. I need your help.”

“Help how?” I asked my mind was wheeling and I wasn’t sure I wanted to hear anything more that Trey had to say, but I knew what he was going tell me anyway. And deep down I already knew what he was asking for. So, I just sat and waited for him to say what we were both thinking.

“I need you to give her up.”

There it was, my grade in math was improving I finally found a girl I was crazy about, and now I was being asked to step aside for another man. After all, if Trey was telling the truth I was just a plaything anyway. Lucy and I would never go beyond hand holding and pecking on the cheek. Trey stood dropping bills on the table the last thing he said was. “Think about it.” Then just like that he left leaving my mind a mess and my heart adrift. I wanted to weep, but I still had two hours on the clock. I held back the tears and went back to work, determined to forget the whole thing, and for the next two hours I did, but that night lying in bed my mind let loose and the flood of emotions were enough to sink me and carry me away.

Days later I was still fuming and reeling over what Trey had revealed to me that day. When Thursday came around, I skipped study hall, opting to hide out in my room instead. Later that night when the landlady came knocking informing me, I had a guest, I ignore her, I knew who it was, and I couldn’t face Lucy at that moment. I knew if I did, I was just going say things that I would regret.

Also, a large part of me wanted to believe that everything Trey had told me was one big lie, on behalf of Tom. Tom, the asshole, I knew if I saw him that I would probably punch him in the face, and I was damn sure nothing good would come from that. It took me a long time to cool down, but once I did and I started putting all the pieces together I knew Trey was telling the truth, and in the end, it was a relief. The day before the next study hall I confronted Lucy and she admitted that she still loved Tom, and that she should stop seeing me.

And that was it, far as my math grade went. It had improved enough for me to keep my scholarship for the next semester. I also found me a different study group, one with a considerable number of people. I never spent time together with that group again. I would occasionally see Lucy and Tom holding hands walking between classes, but I never approached them or said hi.

Years after I graduated, I found Trey on Facebook and we reconnected. He told me how he met his wife during a trip to the emergency room, a story I will not share here. I told him the woes of my own marriage and later divorce. After catching up on each other’s lives, Trey finally told me about Lucy and Tom. How after college they had gotten married and after ten years, they were still going strong. Even had the 2.5 kids and the white picnic fence.

With a drink in my hand, I sat pondering about that brief period in my life. How a failing grade in math and a chance encounter in a laundromat could have such a fundamental change on my life. Though Lucy had only been in my life such a short amount of time, she had occupied my mind beyond those college days. Now sitting at my computer writing this all out I cannot help wondering if Trey is telling the truth. I remember the last thing I said to her that day before we parted ways. “If it ever doesn’t work out between you two, I will be here.” She nodded and said she would keep it in mind. The more I think about it, the more I wonder. After all Trey could be wrong, life can change in unexpected ways. Her and Tom are living happily ever after, or Lucy could be looking for a change and just waiting for a chance encounter, just like that one so long ago. Guess only one way to find out. After all Lucy is just a click away, one request and I will see what happens, never know.

--

--