Email forward for adresses where you do not want an account

Frederik Banke
2 min readAug 5, 2018

--

If you like me have too many domains for different projects, email accounts get a problem. With any domain comes the responsibility to allow people to get in contact with you. Often I use a webmaster@domain or info@domain email address to enable visitors to contact me.

But At $4 / month for an Amazon Work mail account and $5 / month for a Google suite user maintaining many email accounts gets pricey. Also, it is a hassle to monitor all the accounts.

Often you simply want to have emails forwarded to a single email account, where it is possible to set up filters, and allows you to check mail in a centralized place. For example, have info@datadriven-investment.com be forwarded to frederik@patch.dk which is my primary email account. With minimum set up.

I need a service that allows me to quickly and cheap set up email forwarding to my email account hosted at Google.

Enter forwardemail.net! It is a free and simple system that provides email forwarding service for any custom domain. It requires a bit of knowledge about DNS, but if you have that, forwarding can be set up in 10minutes.

The service works by adding forwardemail.net’s MX servers and adding a TXT record signaling where emails should be sent.

Shout out to Niftylettice for creating such a seamless service.

Originally published at Datadriven-investment.com.

--

--

Frederik Banke

Big Data and Machine Learning intrigues me and I love to work with complex problems that can be solved by programming.