How Loneliness Became Blessed Solitude

Montgomery Mahaffey
7 min readOct 15, 2019

I would have given anything for a relationship and…be careful what you wish for.

Image by Jonny Lindner from Pixabay

In my former home of Juneau, Alaska, more than one person has said that there’s no lonely like Juneau lonely.

And it’s true.

It was there that I developed a problem with being alone for the first time in my life. And it was in Juneau that I learned to contribute to community and to fill up my inner space.

But if you don’t have everything you need there, the loneliness is excruciating and only gets worse with time.

So much that I left Juneau and moved to Portland, Oregon.

But I brought that writhing anguish of loneliness with me, and it continued to consume me for several more years.

Of course, there were a few short-lived dating disasters during this time. But the long gaps of dateless years continued.

I prayed, meditated, begged, bargained, and even threatened God, Goddess, and the Universe to fall in love and have the relationship of my dreams. There wasn’t anything that I wouldn’t have done to meet somebody special.

During this time, I didn’t just sit around and mope in my self-pity.

I filled up my life with all kinds of wonderful things. Fortunately, Portland, Oregon…

--

--

Montgomery Mahaffey

Fantasy writer and storyteller. Here, I write about life stuff that’s not for my blog. My blog & novels are at www.freeflyingpress.com.