‘Autumn Dawning’ | Midjourney/@thecoldheaven

Recreation Ground

Fiona Guest
Oct 8, 2023

A mist is laid across the ground,
The oak and ash stand stark around
And nothing stirs or makes a sound
When I arrive with the morning.

It’s like the mist inside my head,
That rests there, peaceful, with the dead,
And all the words I’ve left unsaid -
They float around there like a warning.

A scarf hangs limp upon a post,
A child’s toy, like memories, lost,
And no one here sees what it costs
To witness ghosts in the dawning.

Yesterday’s rain is over now,
Droplets scattered anyhow,
My face in a puddle, rippled frown -
Stare too long and you’ll fall in.

It’s another dull old day I guess,
The sun barely breaking the night’s distress,
I sit on a bench and then confess
That most of my sins are appalling.

--

--