I created a TRIM PATH button for After Effects to save time.

Friends in Motion
2 min readJan 18, 2023

--

As a motion graphics animator, I spend many hours in front of the computer. I have even wondered how many clicks I make a day and I know there are applications to see it, but what I need is to save time and not search for a click counter.

Recently, I have been animating many icons and illustrations to export them in .JSON with Bodymovin or Lottie, one of the tools I use the most are the Additives of vector layers with several steps:
· Unfold the vector layer
· Click on ‘Add’
· Look for ‘Trim Path’
· Oops! I accidentally clicked on ‘Offset’
· Ctrl + Z and repeat…

I said to myself, ‘What if I had a button to make ‘Trim Path’ in one click?’

With my limited knowledge of Javascript, I checked the documentation of After Effects and I made Tipi Me. A script that I can leave near the timeline and select the layer where I need this type of animation and with one click on the mouse have this option activated. I have left it for free on Gumroad and will probably review it to have some extra option.

Let’s Go Further!

I have to admit, it made me so happy that a simple button was so useful, that I took advantage of the valuable time mentioned to make an extended version of Tipi Me, but with other options for vector layers. And that’s how I made Shaper Pepper, which has options like Offset, Round corners, Merge, etc. I also have this on Gumroad, and with more options, I have put a symbolic price on it.

Do you create your own tools? Are you Trim Path lovers like us?
Let me know in the comments.

For more information visit www.friendsinmotion.com

--

--

Friends in Motion

Somos un equipo de personas, haciendo lo que más nos gusta.