My iPad photo workflow: editing

Fritz Nordengren
6 min readNov 29, 2023

Using Lightroom to select final images and edit them as needed

In the first post of my three-easy pieces workflow, I set the stage for my process. I shared the initial iPad prep work I do before the assignment and how I move images from cameras to Lightroom on an iPad Pro.

I edit in Lightroom. You don’t have to. Maybe.

This workflow may be adaptable to your preferred iPad photo editing tool. The Lightroom advantages to my workflow include:

  • being familar with Lightroom Classic .. they are different but similar enough.
  • being able to retain the original raw format file
  • and also being able to output JPG and other formats like DNG or TIFF.

There are tradeoffs, as well. Photography tools are like photographers: none of us is perfect.

To follow this workflow for your tool, confirm you can do these steps:

  • import to the iPad and into your editing tool, ideally as a batch import
  • make your edits, and then
  • share edited versions directly to ShutterSnitch which I think is handled by iPadOS, but confirm it.
  • In a best-case scenario, it retains a copy of your original file, but that’s up to you.

Adobe has had many different naming conventions for the product known as Lightroom, but in the current…

--

--

Fritz Nordengren

I am an award-winning producer and documentary storyteller. I'd love to tell your story.