To think. To perceive. To change.

natalie
3 min readMar 10, 2022

--

Image by user CDD20 on Pixabay

Water — a daily necessity of life.

Oftentimes, I find myself paying little attention to the importance of water since it’s such a common thing in my life. But what if I started paying attention to water and its meaning?

After listening to David Foster Wallace’s speech, “This is Water”, I was genuinely left in awe at how refined his understanding of human qualities was. His definition of water is essentially the awareness of others and how you interpret the meaning of your own experiences.

“But the insidious thing about these forms of worship is not that they’re evil or sinful, it’s that they’re unconscious. They are default settings.” The default settings that Wallace describes are how people automatically feel, and how when stuck in negative situations, people are quick to put the blame on others. When there isn’t anything more important to focus on, you end up focusing on mundane and negative things, which is why people need to view things from a different point of view, in a less self-centered way.

Wallace discusses the large part of adult American life, which he describes as “[involving] boredom, routine and petty frustration.” which I interpreted as an average repetitive 9 AM to 5 PM job routine that I’ve always dreaded.

I have always been terrified of growing older and not achieving anything or having enough. I would constantly ask myself, “If life continues to be the same overwhelming cycle of consuming media, working, and searching for distractions… then is there even a point?”. There is a point. And I can do something to change my pessimistic way of thinking.

“But the insidious thing about these forms of worship is not that they’re evil or sinful, it’s that they’re unconscious. They are default settings.”

Image by user CDD20 on Pixabay

Wallace truly heightened my awareness of myself and for others. Although growing older was something I’ve always feared, hearing his speech was comforting and I felt like I could really move on from the grueling inconveniences which had been holding me back. By consciously deciding how to perceive the world around me, I would be able to live a better life. There are plenty of people who are living the life that I used to dread, and they are completely fine, and some may even love their lives, while also having more tedious lives than I do, which gives me a sense of reassurance. Seeing such normal things like these in a brighter light has helped me overcome so many obstacles, and I’ve learned how to tackle the imperfections of my life— all by thinking critically.

His speech, “This is Water” made me realize that I have complete control over what and how I think. If I were to be more aware of what I chose to pay attention to and how I interpreted it, then I would have a healthier mindset, and wouldn’t be bothered so much by the small hindrances in my life.

Seeing things in a positive light by focusing on the good aspects helped me realize that it was all in my power to think freely and happily. Since then, I’ve been more compassionate, understanding, and patient with others than I used to be. Although I still occasionally have simple, yet bitter frustrations, I’ve grown to become a more optimistic thinker and person thanks to water.

--

--