Why I’m wary of frugal people

Your “thriftier-than-thou” attitude is toxic

ginna
5 min readOct 11, 2018
Photo by Paulo Silva

A few years ago, a couple I’m close to visited me. In their mid-50s, they have a great deal of money saved from a combination of six-figure salaries, a small inheritance, great investing skills, and doing without. This allowed them to retire early and travel the US.

Throughout the visit, I started to notice frugal digs that had never been a part of our relationship. For example, I had planned a fun celebratory dinner at a tapas restaurant since we hadn’t seem each other in a couple years. (We planned to treat.) . When we got the menus, they looked at them in shock and started pointing at menu items. “Wow, I can’t believe what people pay for food!! This is just crazy. No wonder everyone is in debt.”

It didn’t stop there. The digs went on for two days: “We can’t AFFORD Netflix like you guys. We don’t have internet access because we can’t AFFORD fancy smart phones like yours. We get it, your generation is addicted to your phones and you’re no exception. Btw what’s your wifi password? Also, could we use your Netflix while you’re at work?”

Put another way:

I, Ginna, am stupid with my spending. This includes spending money to offer hospitality to you, as you are using my generosity as a way to build your portfolio. Would…

--

--