Nothing is safe in a hacker conference: not even the coffee machine

Elliot Alderson
4 min readJul 11, 2019

The 6th of July 2019 “LeHack”, one of the oldest French underground hackers’ event took place in The Cité des Sciences et de l’Industrie, in Paris. The morning was super cool, I had the chance to meet and chat with a lot of people. After the meal, I started to feel tired so I decided to have a coffee and that’s where this story begins.

Introduction

This coffee machine is quite standard, so I paid my coffee with my credit card and I was ready to leave when I saw that.

It’s written “Pay with your smartphone! Download the Coffee cApp”. Wait, what? I can pay my coffee with an Android app! I’m a hacker at a hacker conference with plenty of time. It’s time to do my thing.

Description of the CoffeecApp in the Play Store

I downloaded this <sarcasm>very useful</sarcasm> app and started to use it…

--

--

Elliot Alderson

🇫🇷 Hacker. Fight disinformation at Predicta Lab. Not completely schizophrenic. Not related to USANetwork.