TikTok: What is an app log?

Elliot Alderson
4 min readAug 19, 2020

Since my first article, TikTok: Logs, Logs, Logs, a lot of things happened.

It’s time to continue our journey. Let’s stick to the facts to better understand what TikTok is really doing under the hood.

Disclaimer

  • TikTok offers plethora of features to their users thanks to its millions of lines worth of code. As such, a single article can not cover a question as broad and nebulous as “does TikTok pose a threat to US national security?”. That’s why I’ll cover the matter over several articles all focused on specific subjects.
  • My name is Baptiste Robert, I’m a French security researcher. I’ve been analysing mobile apps for…

--

--

Elliot Alderson

🇫🇷 Hacker. Fight disinformation at Predicta Lab. Not completely schizophrenic. Not related to USANetwork.