The 77Challenge — gamifying consistency

The 75hard substitute for getting back on track.

Mariel Lopez
4 min readAug 8, 2023

TL;DR: 77 days, 11 weeks to create traction. Rules on second photo and at the end. Google Sheets at the end. Goal: consistency. It’s movement, calm, hydration, and cross out to-dos.

Photo by Scott Broome on Unsplash

Small changes are the best way to achieve consistency and big goals. I know this from experience. Because I’ve tried the other way around and it only yields short solutions. And, because I like to complicate myself, I created my own challenge.

I’ve been seeing the 75hard everywhere for some time now. Too much for me. With that I’ve also seen some over variations called 75slow. I got the inspiration to start something after watching Jaime Fok YT channel where she embarked on her own journey with her own version of it.

77 vs 75

Similar to #75hard, but more realistic (for me). A #77gyst (get your shit together), or #77gbott (get back on the track). These names suck, and I work in marketing. Ideas welcomed. But the 77 stays, because it makes a complete 11 weeks.

Like the 75hard, it requires daily activities. Unlike the original there are also weekly activities, and you don’t have to start from scratch if you fail. You don’t have to exercise every day.

The 75hard is for adrenaline and discipline. I created the #77compound for consistency. To get the ball rolling for those of us who need an electroshock to start; and bigger jolts to finish pending tasks. All in a gamified style.

Made with Canva

This is the challenge I want to finish, the one that makes me finally organize my closet.

The rules

Daily:

1. If you have a sedentary life (desk job) –stand up and move/stretch for 3–5 minutes every 45 minutes.

Tip: When you get into the office put on a timer. Extra tip: Put a reminder to put up a timer.

2. Drink enough water and liquids. And not a gallon, even in this heat I don’t think it’s necessary.

You can search how much you need by your weigh; a rule of thumb is half of your weight (in pounds). That’s how many ounces. Take into account: weather and physical activity.

Tip: A water bottle with a straw. Tea counts. Also you get water from what you eat too.

3. Meditate state for five minutes.

Meditate, listen to music, pray — stay still no distractions. If you already do this then up the time.

4. Write a 3-line journal.

This is more to gauge your progress. Also, for release, for gratefulness, for troubles, to review your day. You can go longer if you like.

Weekly:

5. At least three days of movement/exercises.

6. At least two days of rest.

Rest will look different things depending on what you already do on the regular.

7. Do one activity from the Home To-do list.

It’s those things that you push off, again and again. From fixing the door, to putting up artwork, to taking the cat to the vet.

One a week, don’t try to fix everything at once. One freebie a week is allowed, sometimes we need a break.

8. Do one activity from the Personal To-do list.

One freebie a week is allowed.

9. Reduce or add one thing a week.

A few examples are: Reduce doom scrolling, reduce negative talk, add reading time, add veggies on meals, add pockets of gratefulness. Things that are not that easy to quantify.

10. Read, study, practice anything for 70 mins a week.

Can be done daily or all together, depending on your lifestyle.

11. Have a social outing at least once a week with FFLO (friend, family, loved one).

Coffee with friend, out-of-house dinner, host, go walking together, call a friend.

12. Have a personal care moment of the week.

13. Record your spending and gains.

14. Prepare for next week.

I update my calendar, make sure I have what I need for things to go as smooth as possible.

Take in mind that some of these things or activities on the list may have a price tag on it. Plan accordingly, and as you’re wallet lets you.

And as a good nerd, I created a google sheets to have everything controlled. One tab with the rules. Second tab with the lists and ideas. Third tab with the weekly, I even connected the lists of tab 2 to be able to choose week by week.

You can access it: here. Throw me any questions, share or comment in this post if you do. I should collect emails and all that, but maybe on the next try.

77 days, 11 weeks. For those of us who find it difficult to finish things.

Wanna join?

Continue with my week one review. Or check the list with all the articles about this challenge.

Let’s hope this works. Made in Canva

--

--

Mariel Lopez

Curious penguin writing about what catches my attention. Searching for those moments of fullness.