For the love of art

Visiting Legion of Honor Museum with my toddler

FUNMOMMYSF
3 min readMar 10, 2015

San Francisco has so many great museums! One of my most favorite ones is The Legion of Honor fine arts museum located at 100 34th Avenue. It is truly the most architecturally beautiful museum of San Francisco with incredible views of the city and Golden Gate Bridge. Museum collection consists of many famous classical artists and has great visiting exhibitions throughout the year.

Viewing art:

My little art lover is looking at Ferdinand Bol “The Crowning of Mirtillo”, 1650

I visited the Legion of Honor with my daughter several times while she was a baby and then a toddler. It is so easy to navigate with a stroller and it will probably take you 1–2 hours to cover all of the exhibition rooms. While my daughter was a baby I enjoyed viewing art when she was taking a nap and later when she was awake during our museum visit I would point out some bright and favorite pieces for her to look at. You would think that a small child would not be interested in seeing paintings, but I have noticed that while it might be unrealistic for your child to observe and see all of them, she will find an image or two which will spark her interest. I only wonder what my daughter might have imagined while viewing art … maybe she was thinking about having a snack, which leads me to a …

Museum Cafe:

Cafe at he museum has delicious salads, sandwiches, soups and desserts. It serves very tasty Californian Fusion cuisine. If you plan on visiting Museum Cafe just for meeting a friend, you do not need to purchase a museum ticket. We had a great get together there with some friends sitting outside on a lovely sunny day. Our children enjoyed the freedom to play outside while watching birds and snacking on tasty food.

Lincoln Park:

In a labyrinth of art

What a great park for a stroller ride or a walk with your family and friends. It has a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge that you can see on a sunny day. It is such a great end to a museum visit to make your memories of the day even more special!

Did you know?

You can visit this wonderful museum for free on every first Tuesday of a month. You can see here more info on visiting.

--

--

FUNMOMMYSF

Adventurous mommy-daughter-son trio. Exploring the world with kids, supporting positivity & healthy lifestyle. mariavakhterova.com