Wisdom to Live by

Jonesy
7 min readJun 26, 2020

As a recent guest on the Guy Code podcast by my friend Koji Steven Sakai I was asked to give some advice for life to his son, who will hopefully listen to my episode in the future and glean something from it. More than likely he’ll listen to it and say, “Meh these are just antiquated ramblings of an old dude.”

Guy Code was one of the best podcasts I’ve ever guested on. I like to think that the advice I gave to future young Sakai was timeless and applicable. So I decided to write out those lessons along with a bit of wisdom I did not include in my episode. It’s my hope that you’ll get something out of this, reader.

Listen to Guy Code on any podcast player.
  1. When it comes to understanding life, experiential learning is the only worthwhile kind, ALL ELSE IS HEARSAY.

I picked up this quote somewhere along my travels and I think it’s the most important piece of wisdom that I imparted to young Sakai. Everyone that has lived a life feels justified in telling you exactly how you should do it — whether they’re the CEO of Startup Inc. or the mailman. Who do you listen to?

In my opinion you listen to NOBODY. Now I realize this is a contradiction being that I’m writing an article on how to live life. So… with that said, don’t even listen to ME.

First person experience is paramount to living. That means don’t listen to others. Listen to yourself. What happens to YOU…

--

--

Jonesy

Comedian from Letterman Show, Gotham, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Nurse Jackie and other tv shows. http://Jonesy.com