5 Acts of kindness

Furqan Afzal
3 min readFeb 21, 2020

--

(Furqan Afzal)

It was a pleasant day when I woke up with a different smile on my face. Today is going to be an exciting one, I mumbled. With every passing day we have become so involved in our hectic routines that we even forgot to smile. Usually we don’t have time to think where we are going and why we are going?

Last night I promised myself to spend this day in a bit different manner, so I can avoid that daily rat race for atleast one day. Today I’ll do 5 small acts of kindness…..I reminded myself. Peeking through the window of my room….I was seeing the beautiful sequence houses of Johar Town Lahore.

Peeking throught the window

1- Being kind to myself:

I am most deserving person to get my kindness and politeness. We do every thing for the rest of world but we often ignore ourself. I am the only person who need my attention,love and care. We lift the heavy weights from the past and spend whole day with this useless burden.we don’t forgive ourself for our past mistakes and blunders we had done before.

So I said few sentences of praise to me and said “keep going, things will be better soon” (INSHA ALLAH)

2- Innocent Smiles are free :

I went to the nearest general store to purchase some routine items, here I saw 2 innocent children searching for some candy but I guess they did’nt have enough money. I purchased something for them and asked the shop keeper to give them, He did so. I turned towards my bike , I knew that they were smiling but I did’nt turn back and with an ultimate joy inside me, I went to my next destination.

The innocent kids

3-Acknowledging my teammate:

We often criticise people for thier mistakes but forget to appreciate them on thier good deeds. That is why I texted my teammate and appreciated his/her positive approach.

Screen shot of the text

4- Hugging a waiter:

On a local restaurant where I used to have my meals, I sincerely hugged an old waiter and said : Ki haal chaal ay chacaha? (How are u uncle?)

I was shocked to see that he showed more love towards me, True happiness and a sign of surprize was clear in his eyes.

5-Kindness towards political opponents (yet friends):

We uni friends are on a whatsapp group, a hot political argumentation and saying bad comments about opponents political leaders is a norm here. Sometimes we pass harsh comments towards each other. Today I send them a message of political harmony and to focus on the line “Agree to disagree” so that an environment of love ,respect and tolerance could be maintained in the group.

Screen shot of the text

In a single day, with these small acts of kindness,respect and love ….. I felt so good that I can not express my feelings in words. We can adopt these small act as our daily routine and make this planet , A HEAVEN!!!

(Furqan Afzal)

--

--