Noah O.

FYS 1010
2 min readDec 8, 2017

--

My approach to academics has changed this year because of First-Year Success Seminar by helping me be better prepared for exams and completing homework. The distributed practice method that we learned has helped with exams. For example, by studying using distributed practice, the memory keeps being refreshed so that the information is retrieved easier. The strategies that I lacked prior to this year are using a planner and removing distractions. By using a planner, I know the work that need to be done so that I will not forget anything. By removing distractions, I can focus for a longer amount of time. I have a better understanding of myself as a learner because I have now realized how much I can get done if I use the strategies that were introduced to me. These strategies create less stress and, therefore, creates a better working environment.

Some challenges that have impacted my academics are work and procrastination. With work, there is not much time to relax and procrastinate, so you must get all your work done. This creates more stress and leads to less effort that is put into assignments and, then, you are not showing an accurate representation of your best work. Also, procrastination has affected me tremendously this year. I have a hard time wanting to work on assignments so I leave them to the last minute. I have tried to fix these problems by planning out what I need to get done throughout my day. This has allowed me to use a step by step process to complete everything that I need to get done.

I feel that I need to work on procrastination the most because I always tell myself I can do my work at the last minute, but this creates more stress for myself, and it is revealed in my work. I plan to fix this problem by working on assignments earlier so that I do not have to complete them the night before. The entire assignment does not need to be completed in one day but it can be spread out through many days so that only minimal work is left to complete. This will create less stress and reflect my best effort.

--

--